How to Beat the Heat This Summer

25 May

I love the summer sun & the vacations that come with it, but training for races is no joke in the hot heat of the summer! Here are tips and tricks to stay cool this summer.

  • Stay Hydrated

This is something I am still learning to this day. Some days I will be really on top of drinking water and than others I barely reach for my water bottle. Lately I’ve been bringing my water bottle everywhere with me (in the car, to work, by my bed, etc.) which has definitely been helping me drink more water as the weather gets warmer!

unnamed

  • Use Sunscreen

I often forget this one as well! We are all used to bringing sunscreen on beach trips or when we go on vacation but how many of us actually remember to put it on while out on our daily runs? Putting a bottle of sunscreen by the front door or with your running shoes is a great way to remember to use it before your outside activities!

  • Plan Your Training Accordingly to the Weather

If you aren’t an early morning runner you may turn into one during the heat of the summer! In the past few weeks the temperatures have spiked here in South Carolina and I am finding it harder and harder to get out in the afternoon with the dog. We’ve been trying to go out in the morning but mostly in the evening after the sun sets is when I’ll take the dog on a walk to get her out. It also helps to have that gym membership where I can train indoors!! 🙂

  • Dress for the Heat

If I decide to go on an early morning run I typically look up the weather the night before and go ahead and pick out my running gear. I’ve turned to this site from Runner’s World a few times when I have big races and debate wearing that t-shirt or tank top, those capris or shorts. Click HERE and see what outfit it suggests for you today!

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 2.06.21 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-19 at 2.06.05 PM

  • Keep your Chin Up!

Training in the summer heat can be not only exhausting on your mind but your body as well. Plan for a slower pace and a shorter distance! Though you may be training for a number of upcoming races, take your time training in the summer months! Take it slow and be patient!

unnamed.png

   It’s hard to stay in shape in the summer but it’s totally acheivable by following these few guidelines! Happy Training!

What are your best tips and tricks for running in the summer months?

Leave a Reply

