Training for a Tri

28 Sep

There are five days until Mom and I do the Ramblin’ Rose Triathlon in Chapel Hill! I’m excited but mostly nervous at this point since I haven’t fully trained for parts of the race.

About the Race

The Ramblin Rose Triathlon is all about empowering women! There are five locations in North Carolina that host this all women’s triathlon; Raleigh, South Charlotte, Winston-Salem, Charlotte/Huntersville, and Chapel Hill. We’ve always participated in the Chapel Hill location because that’s the one we are closest too.

Course Map

This Triathlon is a 250 yard swim, 9 mile bike, and 2 mile run.

unnamed

unnamed

unnamed

Tri Training

I’m not super nervous about the swimming portion, I haven’t been swimming in a few months but it’s a sport that I can usually jump right back into with little to no trouble. I don’t have access to a pool right now to practice in so I’m hoping swimming will come back to me real quickly and I’ll do good at the 250 yard swim.

Biking is the portion of the tri that I am extremely nervous about! I took my bike out this summer to get a few minutes down the road and than realized my tires were slowly going flat. After that, I put my bike away and didn’t take it out again until this weekend! My wife fixed my tires and I took it out for a trial ride… and that’s where I found my bike chain to be rusted! I have a bit more work to do on my bike before it’s ready this weekend!

The two mile run is probably the part of the tri that I am most confident in! Since our big move I have been getting out on runs nearly every day and I haven’t started my new job yet so a lot of my alone time has been focused on my ‘healthy eating, healthy living’ motto.

unnamed

My mom and I have five days until our big race day, wish us luck!

Have you ever done a Triathlon? What’s your best Tri advice?

Leave a Reply

