Labor Day Weekend

9 Sep

This past weekend had a lot of highs and lows. For being a long weekend it was definitely pack full from start to finish!

Friday night we all went to the movies and while we let my step daughter, her boyfriend, and her friend go see a scary movie, me, my wife and my 9-year-old step son opted for Pete’s Dragon. I have to be honest and say I wasn’t too thrilled about going to see a childs movie, especially since I’ve never been a huge fan of Pete’s Dragon, but I ended up really liking it. I even cried at the end (and I never cry during movies so this says alot)!

images

My step daughter wanted to celebrate her Birthday this weekend so she invited a friend and we all drove to Myrtle Beach for the day on Saturday. Now that we only live about 45 minutes from Myrtle Beach so it’s pretty easy to do weekend trips or even day trips to see the ocean! One of our favorite places to go is Broadway at the Beach and visit all the beachy shops.

unnamed-2

I surprised myself and did a little Christmas shopping while down there! I love to get a head start on Christmas shopping, though I was not expecting to get anything this weekend sometimes when you see something for someone you just have to go ahead and grab it. We had a nice lunch at Margaritaville where my step daughter and step son flagged down the balloon guy to make us funny balloon hats. She asked specifically for me and Danielle to have a connecting one! 😛

unnamed-3

After lunch we walked around the shops a bit. Danielle and I have decided that we would like to get a Christmas ornament from all the places we travel to and to start our collection we got one from Myrtle Beach with our wedding date on it!

unnamed-4.jpg

My step daughter wanted to go to Wonder works for part of her Birthday so while in Myrtle Beach we spent a few hours going through the three floored, interactive amusement park! I had never been before and wasn’t sure there was going to be a lot for an adult to enjoy but it was awesome!! My favoirte part was probably the high ropes course they had inside!

myrtle-facade.jpg

That pretty much concluded our day in Myrtle Beach. After Wonderworks I think we were all pretty tired and just wanted to go home and rest!

Sunday I got news from home that one of our family dogs wasn’t doing well so my parents brought her to the emergency vet. For the next 24 hours she got better, than worse, than better, and finally got to the point that even if she did get better there was no telling if she would be able to come home again and what kind of life she would have from there. Monday we said goodbye to her and she crossed the rainbow bridge into dog heaven.

unnamed-12

I wasn’t at home to say goodbye since her health decreased very rapidly on Monday. I’ll always remember how Daisy loved to play in the ocean and catch snowballs when we got heavy snow! She was a great kayak partner for my Mom and always greeted my Dad with a smile on her face and a wagging tail when he got home from work everyday.

14199743_742420459585_75607211923113241_n

We will miss you, Daisy!

On a bit of a lighter note, keep an eye out NEXT WEEK for some amazing GIVEAWAYS!!

Leave a Reply

