Our Engagement Story

6 Jun

A little less than two months from today I will be standing across from the most amazing woman saying, “I do”! I figured it’s about time I share our engagement story for everyone to read. 🙂

My Fiance’s family lives in California so last August we spent two weeks visiting Las Vegas and California. I had never been before so it was amazing to see something new and travel with her for a couple of weeks.

7b4a13bc-1d89-4930-8c44-551f4fe6dee9

While in California we spent a few days in Disneyland, my first and hopefully not last time there!

0f22ca12-0f03-4984-8c7a-0bc70a2b6b4f

We were in Disney from August 7-9 and my birthday is on August 8th so it was amazing to spend my birthday at Disneyland! Danielle and I had talked about getting married before and I told her I just didn’t want to get engaged on my birthday because I felt like our engagement needed it’s own day to celebrate.

While in Disney, on the eve of my Birthday, we were waiting across from the Mickey Mouse ferris wheel to see the watershow with Danielle’s two kids. I remember so clearly she turned to me a few minutes before the show started and said, “I want to tell you something”. I stood there and looked at her expecting her to talk to me but instead she signed a beautiful message to me expressing how much she loved me and cared for me. I’m pretty fluent in ASL and she has always said it’s a beautiful language so she taught herself some sign language for me!

c768b11c-4237-46c6-a9ad-d87677b6fe4d

Once she was done signing she took out a small box from her hoodie, got down on one knee and asked the famous question, “Will you marry me?” *blushes* Of course I said, “YES!” and there was applause from some of the people around us. It was amazing!! They say Disney is the happiest place on the planet and this topped any happy moment I’ve ever had at Disney!

I fool around with her because, after the fact, she told me her original plan was to propose ON my Birthday. I told her I thought that was cheesy a few months prior so she changed plans and popped the question on August 7th around 9:05pm in California, which back at home in North Carolina the time would have been 12:05… August 8th. So we goof and say we both got what we wanted. Technically she didn’t propose on my birthday but when I called my parents that night it was well past midnight and my Birthday already. 😛

95f38b8c-5a64-4374-9857-a48e4fce6630

I could not have asked for a better place to be engaged than at Disney Land! I love this woman and I can’t wait to call her my wife! ❤

0e878fd3-bd0f-4a1e-bd81-a093cfaa161f

f9b78f23-eb74-443b-ad5f-dc0faa5bbc29

We finished our trip in San Francisco where it was pretty cloudy the few days we were there but I would not take this trip back for anything!

f41b20f7-da09-4c74-a2dd-d87da2ff5887

Not too much longer than I will no longer have a Fiance but an amazing Wife!!!

One Response to “Our Engagement Story”

  1. Chocolaterunsjudy June 6, 2016 at 19:32 #

    Congrats! How sweet!

    My husband actually did propose to me around my birthday — I can’t actually remember if it was on it or not — but let’s just say it wasn’t completely planned and not really all that romantic.

    In fact, when I got home I didn’t call anyone because I wasn’t even sure it was real!

    So 31 yrs later . . .

Leave a Reply

