A Love Hate Relationship with Running

20 May

It’s no secret that I love to run. Well, let’s be honest, “love” is a bit much. I really like to run. I think I’m beginning to realize that I only love to run on race days which makes training for said races very difficult!

Running motivation is one of the best things that help me get out there! Pinterest is my best friend when it comes to this. Late at night as I’m trying to calm down after an 8-hour shift at work, I Pinterest … which I realize is probably a bad habit while I’m trying to go to sleep.

85eab1ce1d1dc4956e4fe53773e56693[1]inspire-no-slow-runners[1]

I strive everyday to hit my 10,000 steps on my Fitbit Charge, which is a great goal to have on a daily basis, but in the long run it isn’t necessarily helping me get more fit. I’m proud to say I’ve hit this step goal everyday since January 1st of this year though!

FullSizeRender (7).jpg

FullSizeRender (8)

Looking back at my past races is a huge motivation for me as well! I’ve done big half marathons before so I know I can do it again. I remember every cold morning, every gun shot signaling the start of the race, and all the nerves that come with it. More importantly I can recall all the crowds of people cheering us runners on, the encouragement and motivation from my parents as they ran right beside me, the feeling of accomplishment as I cross every finish line… that’s the motivation I look to everyday!

image1 (1)

Amica Rhode Island Half Marathon, 2012

image2 (1)

Rock ‘n Roll Raleigh Half Marathon, 2015

 

 

What motivates you to get active?

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “A Love Hate Relationship with Running”

  1. Chocolaterunsjudy May 20, 2016 at 20:00 #

    Because I only do 2-3 halfs per year, I’m motivated to keep running to get in those 50 states, which may or may not happen — I’m only 1/5 through, and I’m 54 — you do the math!

    Meeting up with friends to run is always motivating.

    And running in nice weather is always motivating!

    Plus it’s the first thing I tend to turn to when I’m really stressed & it always makes me feel better.

Leave a Reply

