Rock ‘n Roll Raleigh Remix Challenge Recap: Part One

23 Apr

A few week ago my parents, my fiance (yes, you read that right… my Fiance! More to come on this later!!), and I went to the heart of North Carolina to run the Rock ‘n Roll Raleigh races. The temperatures were just about freezing, probably the second coldest race I have ever ran, which made it extremely difficult to get through the runs.

This was also my first running race challenge, meaning the first time I have run two races in one weekend! Back in 2007 my Dad, brother, and I participated in the Myrtle Beach 10-mile bike ride on Saturday and then the half marathon on Sunday. I remember getting back to classes on Monday absolutely sick to my stomach, perhaps from putting my body through too much over the short weekend. For the past couple of months my mind kept going back to this. I didn’t want to get sick again or have to call out of work because I did too much in the weekend so I tried hard to prepare myself this time around!

Pre Race

image1

Danielle and I arrived in Raleigh on Friday evening where we went to the race expo with my parents. We didn’t spend a lot of time there because we were arriving so late, we really only had time to collect our race bibs, shirts, and time chips. It was a quick visit but that gave us a little more time to prepare for Saturday’s 5k run!

After the expo we went to eat at a restaurant called ‘B Goods’ which was amazing!!! This was my first time eating here and I would highly recommend going here to anyone! Being a vegetarian it’s sometimes hard to find a good healthy place to eat, especially while traveling. Raleigh is an amazing location full of many vegetarian friendly places to eat. At ‘B Goods’ they bring fresh ingredients in from local farms. I got a veggie burger with sweet potato fries that was delicious!

bgood_makers_map-raleigh

When we got to our room we immediately started getting our race gear ready for the morning and headed to bed shortly afterwards.

FullSizeRender

Race – 5k

Saturday morning we woke up to temperatures in the 40’s which meant I had to layer up much more than what I had prepared for. We had to catch a bus to the start line and arrived super early leaving us to try to find a warmer place to wait but at 6:30 am the sun wasn’t up yet. We resorted to standing next to a generator near a building in hopes it was running to keep up from going numb. I’m not sure if it was all in my head or not, but I think it kept us a little warmer!

IMG_3263

Who knew it would be so cold in April in North Carolina?!? After over an hour of waiting in the cold, we were finally off on the first race of the weekend!

IMG_3267

My Fiance and I stuck together through out the run which was nice because we encouraged each other to keep running, mostly to try to keep warm 😉

We ran into mile two but slowed down a bit after a while. We were getting warmer as we kept moving which definitely motivated us to keep going! I have to say, I forgot how hilly Raleigh can be until I was out there running the roads. I feel like I say that every year but it’s true, I don’t run in Raleigh every day and where I do train it’s fairly flat (first mistake in training for this race!). That was probably the worst part about the weekend, the darn hills! That slowed me down more than anything.

I didn’t get a lot of photos during the run because I was just trying to enjoy my time with my Fiance and her first Rock ‘n Roll event race! We finished strong and crossed the finish line together 🙂 My parents finished not far after us!

IMG_3273

Post Race

This 5k was actually really fun and enjoyable, around the frigid weather that is. We paused for a quick photo, skipped the free beer (I don’t mind a nice cold beer right after a half marathon, but at 10 am after just three miles… I passed) and than made our way to the bus to get back to the hotel. I’m glad we got in line when we did, the wait was pretty long!

IMG_3280

I can assure you we fell asleep pretty early Saturday night to be prepared for our big half marathon on Sunday! Keep checking back, Part two of the weekend is coming up soon!

Leave a Reply

