International Festival

15 Oct

This weekend I went to the International Festival in the heart of Raleigh. My family used to go almost every year when us kids were younger, but as we grew older and moved away for college we stopped going as much. I was excited when my sister told me the festival would be going on while I was home over the weekend!

My sister, her boyfriend, my mom & I went on Saturday to visit the festival that I haven’t seen in a quite a few years. By the time we got there we were all a bit hungry so we started at the food tents. I love this festival because they bring vendors in that cook food from all over the country!

unnamed-2

Each vendor tent represents a different country which has their menu on the wall next to them. I’m not going to lie, there were a lot of foods that I couldn’t pronouce which drove me away pretty quickly! Being a vegetarian I also by passed a lot of the vendors that had all meat items. We ended up buying from Venezuela which had a really good veggie arepas.

Veggie Arepas from Venezalea!

Veggie Arepas from Venezuela!

The arepa was a corn flour base breading with filling inside. Mine had black beans and cheese with added cilantro sauce on top. It was delicious and also very filling!

unnamed-3

After we filled up on international food, my mom and I split from my sister and her boyfriend and headed towards the country tents that were selling various items. Before we got too far we found a ‘Before I die I want to…’ bored and took a minute to write down our hopes and dreams.

Mom's life goal, "Before I die I want to run a race in every state"

Mom’s life goal, “Before I die I want to run a race in every state”

My life goal, "Before I die I want to run a race on every continent"

My life goal, “Before I die I want to run a race on every continent”

One activity that my mom & I did almost every year when I was younger was we got henna tattoos. Henna is body art that is used in Africa, India, Pakistan, and other Middle East countries. It’s temporary and stays on for a week or two. This time around my mom got a lizard wrapped around her wrist and I got flowers on my forearm (in case I went into work this week and had to cover it up with a long sleeve shirt).

unnamed-10

They are applied with a paste-like ink that sinks into your skin. After applied you let it dry for a while, until it gets crusty and hard on your skin, than you wash it off and it leaves the outline of your design on your skin. They both turned out beautiful! Here is a before and after photo of my design.

My Henna design, before and after washing off the ink!

My Henna design, before and after washing off the ink!

I’m so glad I was able to go this year & experience this amazing festival! It definetly brought back memories from when I was younger!

Do you have a local International Festival? Have you ever been?

3 Responses to “International Festival”

  1. Chocolaterunsjudy October 15, 2015 at 11:47 #

    If they have one here, I’m not aware of it. I’d probably have to go myself since my husband doesn’t like crowds.

    You & your mom are too cute!

  2. SuzLyfe October 15, 2015 at 19:36 #

    When I was in elementary school, we used to have an international day and fair, and each class or grade (I don’t remember) was in charge of a nationality or country. It seriously was so much fun, and such a cool way to learn about other cultures. This is like the grown up version 😀

    • run50states October 15, 2015 at 23:46 #

      This does sound like a grown up version of that! haha, I love walking around and learning about the different countries!

Leave a Reply

