The Triathlon That Wasn’t

7 Oct

On Friday I packed up my bag with all my tri gear, loaded my bike in the car, and was off to my parents house to get ready for the triathlon on Sunday! About 30 minutes before we arrived in Durham, my girlfriend turned to me as I was driving and says, “Looks like the triathlon is canceled….”

Screen Shot 2015-10-06 at 10.45.23 AM

Last week with the whether we had here from Hurricane Joaquin I knew it was a chance that our race on Sunday would be canceled but it’s not something that happens often, so I wasn’t really expecting it. I was a bit in shock that they canceled it when we hadn’t gotten TOO much rain, the wind and cold temperature was a different story though! One day it was toasty and the next we got a cold wave in which I pulled out scarves and my winter coats to stay warm on my daily walks.

On Saturday Mom & I drove to Fleet Feet to collect our race shirt that we were still able to get even though the race was off. That’s when it hit me that it was the 10 year anniversary of the Ramblin’ Rose Tri! I was so gutted that I was missing the 10th year this race as been on!

unnamed

Within the past couple of months we were offered different pieces of attire depending on how early we signed up for the race. Mom & I signed up so early that we were able to get this Love 2 Tri shirt as well which I’m loving!

unnamed-1

When I posted this race cancellation on Facebook, a friend of mine said her friend has had bad luck with this tri because a few years ago that stopped the whole race about half way through the morning because of the cautious weather coming in. I’m beginning to think I’m having bad luck with this tri as well. Four years ago, after I had signed up for the race, I broke my ankle and was on crutches so could not participate and this year it’s canceled.

The company can not reimburse up but the are giving us all a 50% discount code for any Ramblin’ Rose event in 2016. My mom & I will definitely be taking advantage of that and giving this race another chance!

Have you ever signed up for a race that got canceled?

Leave a Reply

