Ten Days and Counting…

25 Sep

Today marks ten days until the Ramblin’ Rose Triathlon in Chapel Hill!!! Don’t look too much into all those exclamation marks though… even though I am stoked to be partaking in another race (& my second tri event) I am incredibly nervous for this one. It’s been five years since I’ve done my last tri, I honestly didn’t think it had been that long!

I’ve been trying to do some sort of training every day to make it through this race next weekend. More running lately than anything else but at least it’s getting me outside in this beautiful weather!

Swim Training

It’s been hard to train for the swimming portion of this race since our near by pool closed the weekend of Labor Day. Before it shut down for the season, I can assure you that I was out there almost everyday getting my laps in and doing what I could to feel confident swimming the 250 yd in early October. I love swimming and find it to be quite relaxing (when I’m not pressured to swim quickly enough so the people behind me aren’t waiting to pass).

Screen Shot 2015-09-24 at 4.39.28 PM

Bike Training

Here’s what will be the toughest part of the race for me. A nine mile bike in Chapel Hill is no doubt going to have some hills to overcome. The trails that I’m used to biking, back around my parents house, is all flat and I usually don’t have much of a problem getting from point A to point B. I know for a fact that Chapel Hill is hilly and I will struggle. I don’t remember the biking part the last time I participated in this Tri so I can’t say if I recall struggling so much or not. I’ve been biking just a handful of times between summer and now in hopes to do well on the nine-mile bike part of this race!

Screen Shot 2015-09-17 at 11.43.36 AM

Run Training

The last part of the tri in the two-mile run. I’m not so concerned about this seeing as I’ve run a number of 5k’s and half marathons fairly recently. I feel pretty confident that once I get my running shoes on I’ll be able to flash through the two miles and cross the finish line with no trouble. I am a bit worried how my legs will feel after the nine mile bike though…

Screen Shot 2015-09-24 at 4.39.00 PM

I have ten days until the Tri which will give me a bit of time to get on my bike and get a little more comfortable there!

Have you ever done a triathlon? What was the toughest part for you?

2 Responses to “Ten Days and Counting…”

  1. Chocolaterunsjudy September 25, 2015 at 11:55 #

    Good luck!

    Nope, never tried a tri since I don’t bike. Plus there’s the whole trying to swim in contacts thing . . .

    • run50states September 27, 2015 at 19:03 #

      Thanks!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

