My Week in Alaska

9 Jul

I’ve been back from Alaska for a little over a week now and am definitely keeping myself busy at work but am excited to share my travels and journey (and photos) with everyone! We did so much in the ten days that we were there that I can not possibly share everything we did but I will share my highlights from the week!

We went to Spenard Beach Park to watch float planes land and take off from the water which was amazing!

DSC_0398

We drove / hiked to get a good view of Mount McKinley, the highest peak in North America!

Me, Mom, Dad, & Thomas at Mt. McKenley

Me, Mom, Dad, & Thomas at Mt. McKinley

I loved the animals we got to see in Alaska including a caribou, moose (with babies), and even orange tailed squirrels. Not pictured, we also saw a black bear from a distance, lots of bald eagles, seals, otters, and whales!

image1-2During the week we stayed at a ski resort for a night and took the trolly car up the mountain to hike around a bit and play in the snow!

DSC_0743

Me and my  brother after hiking up a bit of the mountain to find the snow!

Me and my brother after hiking up a bit of the mountain to find the snow!

DSC_0751

One of my favorite things we did was we went on a 5-mile sea kayak trip, than hiked a little over 3 miles, than went whale watching for a few hours!

Kayaking and whales 'bubble feeding'! That was amazing to see!

Kayaking and whales ‘bubble feeding’! That was amazing to see!

DSC_1064

On our way to Seward, Alaska, we stopped at a viewing area to get a good glimpse of the mountains and just so happened to see the train pass by!

DSC_0731

Another one of my favorite parts of the trip was going to see Exit Glacier! We didn’t hike up to get super close to it but it was amazing to go see a glacier in Alaska!

Exit Glacier in the background!

Exit Glacier in the background!

This is just something cool to share! After the whale watching trip, I found this ‘Before I die I want to….’ board and my mom and I took turns writing our ‘before I die’ dreams. I wrote, “…run a half marathon in every state”!

DSC_1067

I REALLY enjoyed Alaska and would suggest going for anyone! I didn’t realize that all of Alaska was pretty much mountains and I usually prefer the beach but these mountains were gorgeous and so beautiful! Keep an eye out for my Mayor’s Midnight Sun Half Marathon Race Recap coming soon!

3 Responses to “My Week in Alaska”

  1. James Scott July 9, 2015 at 07:45 #

    Alaska looks amazing , I’d love to ski there

  2. Chocolaterunsjudy July 9, 2015 at 08:34 #

    Isn’t the blue color in glaciers just amazing? I love a beach too, but anywhere scenic works for me!

  3. Darlene August 10, 2015 at 16:38 #

    I nominated your for a Liebster Award – https://myfirst5k.wordpress.com/2015/08/09/ive-been-nominated/

Leave a Reply

