Alaska in THREE DAYS!!

10 Jun

Three days until I leave for Alaska and I couldn’t be more excited! I started to pack over the weekend when I was home from working at camp and threw a lot of pants and hoodies into my bag but I still have a ways to go before I am fully packed.

I have a friend who is currently in Alaska and she says that it’s defiantly colder than here in North Carolina. I think I will have a bit of a shock when I get there and I am unable to wear shorts and t-shirts anymore but instead it will feel like November! I don’t like cold weather, and especially don’t like running in cold weather, so I’m not really sure what my thought process was in running a race in Alaska but running in June is probably my best bet in trying to get warm (er) weather!

AK_27922

We are flying into Anchorage Friday morning and staying there for the night before moving on to other parts of the state for the week. My family and I have decided to spend the week in Alaska since we have never been and it will also give us a chance to get used to the altitude and chilly weather before our big half marathon next Saturday!

I was doing pretty good in my training until about three weeks ago when I moved into camp for the summer and since than I have been slacking quite a bit in running and training. I spent my first week here at camp teaching a lifeguarding course to some of our staff members and than jumped right into training staff. I would be lying if I said this wasn’t an exhausting job but it’s a job I love, despite the very little free time.

Keep posted as I’m sure I’ll be keeping you all up to date on Alaska plans and photos… lots and lots of photos!

One Response to “Alaska in THREE DAYS!!”

  1. Chocolaterunsjudy June 10, 2015 at 12:40 #

    Looking forward to reading about your adventures! I’d rather run in the cold than the heat. You’ll probably be faster in the cooler air!

Leave a Reply

