Here’s Big Race News!!

20 May

I’ve had some big news that I’ve been waiting to share until I knew plans were finalized. Just last week we (almost) finished planning and now I think it’s safe that I can share…. I’m running my next half marathon in Alaska in June!!!

1017035_553700701373796_274069309_n

In just about a month I will be running the Mayor’s Midnight Sun Half Marathon in Anchorage, Alaska! A friend of mine knows that I have a goal of running a half marathon in every state and therefore bought my entry for this race as a Christmas present last year. My parents decided that if I was going out there to run a race than they wanted to not only come along with me but run the race as well so both my parents and I are signed up for this half marathon in about a month!

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 7.06.59 AM

I’m really excited but super nervous at the same time. I’ve never been to Alaska but I know the altitude is very different than here in North Carolina and the temperature is colder. I’ve been doing better about training for this half marathon so hopefully that training will pay off when I get there despite the big differences.

800602

You can’t tell much by the map but the half marathon takes place on the coast, which doesn’t mean there won’t be hill. I’m just glad we aren’t in the heart of the mountains during this race! I’ve also had to consider the weather and the temperature of Alaska in June. I have a friend who went to Alaska in the fall and said it was cold even in August so I’m not expecting tanning weather. I’ll defiently pack more pants and long sleeves than anything!

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 7.26.26 AM… And about this day light all day everyday in Alaska. I’m worried I’m not going to sleep at all for the week that I’m there! Thankfully we are going out there seven days before the race so we can all get used to the weather and altitude before race day!

If you have ever ran the Mayor’s Midnight Sun Marathon in Anchorage let me know some pointers!! I’m super excited and can’t wait to get there and finally visit Alaska!

2 Responses to “Here’s Big Race News!!”

  1. jlitt62 June 7, 2015 at 16:53 #

    I’m also trying to run one in every state – I started much later in life, tho! We went to Alaska several years ago. We had pretty nice weather, but it can be cool or HOT & often rainy. I’ll be following you with interest!

    • run50states June 9, 2015 at 11:54 #

      Good Luck with your races! I can’t wait to get to Alaska, I hope we do alright getting used to the weather before the big race!

Leave a Reply

