Monthly Goal Recap: January 2015

9 Feb

I think I did a pretty good job keeping up with my monthly goals for January! I think the first month of the year is one of the hardest to keep your goals but I was determined this year and really wanted to make a difference in the way I was eating and working out. Here’s what my month looked like!

Goal #1: Take 10,000 steps a day, five days a week. (22/31)

I hit this goal 22 days this month! That means I didn’t hit my goal nine days! So close to not making it but I would consider this a win! I found myself some days stepping in place towards the end of the day trying to get the last 1,000 steps in right before I went off to bed. This goal definietly helped me get out and get moving which was my biggest motive here. I found myself going on more walks through out the day and volunteering to walk to the store more as well.

Goal #2: Drink eight cups of water everyday. 

Let’s not dive too much into this goal…. let’s just say I didn’t QUITE hit this one. I started the month off by drinking lots of water and drinking eight cups of water everyday for about a week. After that I still drank water but stopped keeping track as much and most likely didn’t drink the full amount. We will still be working on this one for sure!

Goal #3: Eat Healthy

I kept this goal a bit broad because I didn’t want to completely focus on certain foods quite yet. My thought process here was just to eat more healthy foods and stay away from junk food. Let’s say this was a win! I’ve found that I am eating more fruits and vegetables and less sweets and chips!

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you may remember me writing that chips are my ultimate “go-to” food. Whenever I was having a crummy day or have a long car ride I’ll get chips to munch on. I realize this isn’t the greatest habit and definitely not the easiest to break but I’m proud to say I’ve been off chips for a few months now! 🙂 More great news, I’ve been off soda since September!!

Miles Ran: 

I’m not entirely sure how many miles I ran in January… again, I kind of stopped tracking mid-month. Oops. I will estimate about 15 miles ran this month (that’s not including the 13 mile bike ride I went on a few weeks ago!).

Races Planned / Completed: 

In January I didn’t have any races planned but I feel like I did pretty well in my training. Because the gym at my girlfriend’s complex is currently under construction I didn’t work out as much as I would have liked to but I’m hoping that will change once the renovations are complete!

Hopefully February will be just as good we January! 🙂

Leave a Reply

