Update on my Goals This Month

11 Nov

It’s not even half way through the month and I have to say my goals for this month are going pretty well. I haven’t been REALLY tempted by ice cream or soda or chips so far which is so great! Instead I’ve had, what I like to call, victory moments!

sweetFrog_slider1

No Ice Cream: 

My fro-yo incident last week was my first temptation… TECHNICALLY fro-yo isn’t ice cream but is it close enough it still counts as ice cream? I’m not sure, but I did decide to go ahead and indulge in the deliciousness that is self serve frozen yogurt! It was a hard decision but in the end I’d say it was a good treat!

No Soda:

On the topic of soda… those two bottles of diet coke that have been in my fridge for months are now are down to one. No, it wasn’t me who drank one. A few days back I walked into my parents room where I found my mom enjoying a nice cold diet coke. “I hope you don’t mind, I figured you wouldn’t drink it.” She was right. I’m glad someone is finally drinking them! I did cave and have a Blueberry Soda Pop last week though. I told myself at the beginning of the month that I wouldn’t drink soda EXCEPT Blueberry Pop so I decided, for the first time in a month and a half, to indulge in a soda. It was good but I’m glad it didn’t increase any cravings for other sodas.

images

No Chips: 

This goal is my hardest to keep up with. Chips have always been my downfall food, my craving food, that’s why it’s been so important for me to make this goal. I’ve known this whole time that if I cave and have “only one” it will turn in to one serving and than one bag and I’ll be starting over. That’s why it was so important for me to not eat those delicious chips that were served with my lunch at Moe’s a few days ago. I offered them to my two friends I was sitting with explaining to them my goals. I definitely had a “it’s ok if I just eat these because they are part of my lunch” moment but I’m proud of myself for stepping away and being honest with my friends about it all. They did end up eating a good amount of them which was good so I wouldn’t just have to throw them away.

resize_p080811_14-34100003b

One Starbucks a Week:

I’m glad I was honest and up front with my friends about my food goals because right after lunch we decided to go to Starbucks! Luckily it was Sunday, a new week, a new Starbucks coffee! As soon as we got up from the table my friends stopped and turned to me saying, “Wait… if you get a Starbucks now can you make it the rest of the week without one?!?!” It was nice of them to think of me and my goal as we ventured to Starbucks! It hasn’t been too hard staying away from Starbucks so far, we are only in week two though.

On Saturday I got a Starbucks coffee on the way to camp since it was an early morning. As I trekked through the woods of camp carrying coffee for me and my co-workers I thought it was a well deserved coffee as it was going to be a long day!

unnamed-1

There’s my update on this months goals. I think so far I’m doing pretty well and I feel like I’m reaching for healthier options instead of chips and ice cream which is a great feeling!! After the really hard week I had last week I have to keep positive by looking at my small victories!

small-victories-workplace-ecard-someecards

How do you get past your worst temptations?

2 Responses to “Update on my Goals This Month”

  1. Danielle November 11, 2014 at 17:44 #

    It is good to set goals for yourself. Statistics show that when you make a set of goals and write them down, you are more likely to keep them. I think it is good that you are setting goals and sticking to them. Good job and keep up the good work.

    • run50states November 12, 2014 at 16:33 #

      Thanks Danielle! I find that when I share my goals I have more people who can keep me accountable. Most of the time that’s a good thing! 😛

Leave a Reply

