Falafel Recipe

23 Oct

A few nights ago I made falafel for the first time! If you can’t tell I’m on a bit of a cooking spree at the moment. I’ve never wanted to cook this much but lately I feel like I will not only eat healthier by cooking at home but also I’ve realized that some of these recipes aren’t that hard! Want to make falafel at home? Here’s what I did!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cooked white chickpeas (we used chickpeas and pinto beans)
  • 1 medium sized onion, finely chopped or minced
  • 2-3 garlic, crushed or finely chopped or minced
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • ½ tsp red chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • ½ tsp crushed black pepper
  • 2 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 3 tbsp fresh parsley or coriander leaves, finely chopped or minced
  • ½ to 1 tbsp lemon juice (optional)
  • salt as required
  • oil for deep frying

image

Instructions:
  1. Combine all the ingredients in a mixing bowl.
  2. Mash the chickpeas and mix everything well.
  3. image_2Form into small or medium sized balls or patties
  4. image_3Deep fry in hot oil like the way you would do for pakoras/fritters.
  5. image_4Turn over to the other side whilst frying to ensure that the falafels are evenly fried.
  6. image_5Drain falafel on kitchen tissues to remove excess oil.
  7. image_6Serve falafel hot with pita bread.

image_8

My Dad wanted to try and make the greek yogurt sauce that you can get with your falafel in a restaurant but we didn’t have the ingredients to make it so he just put greek yogurt on his pita bread with the falafel while I used hummus. This was also the perfect opportunity to try hemp hearts in my pita sandwich!

I’ll have a review up shortly on these hemp hearts but here’s a quick introduction. Hemp hearts are full of plant based protein and omegas. They have a slight nutty taste, I thought of a sunflower seed or cashews when I ate them. There are many ways you can eat them as well. You can sprinkle them on yogurt, in your cereal, smoothies, or on pita while your making falafel!

2013111813520275368_lrg

For those of you who know me, you know quite well that I can burn anything (grilled cheese, mac & cheese, pasta, etc.) but I think I’m getting the hang of this cooking thing now. This turned out so good & it was really easy to make as well! I was so nervous about making it that I asked my Dad to help me (a list of a lot of ingredients get me stressed out, especially when it’s a lot of spices) but together we mastered this recipe!

One Response to “Falafel Recipe”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hemp Hearts Review | Running Races Coast to Coast - October 29, 2014

    […] few weeks ago I made falafel for dinner which was a great opportunity to use my hemp hearts as well! After the falafel was done […]

Leave a Reply

