Homemade Cherry Almond Ice Cream!

17 Oct

Last month I went to a book sale in town where all their used books were $1!!! I am currently trying to GET RID of things in my house but I couldn’t by pass this opportunity! I ended up only finding two books, which was good because I don’t need anymore books in my house but I’m proud to say that I have gotten good use out of my new cookbook!

img_5293

I bought a ice cream cook book that looked amazing and everything looked pretty simple to make. Since my brothers birthday was just a few days away I told him to pick a recipe and we could make ice cream for his birthday! He chose to make Cherry Almond Ice Cream which turned out delicious!

Here’s what you need:

-2/3 cup of milk (we used almond milk but whole milk works as well)

-2/3 cup of ground almonds

-1 egg & 1 extra yolk

-1/2 cup of superfine sugar

-2-3 droops of almond extract

-1 lb. of red cherries, pitted OR 1 lb. jar of cherry compote (we just used red cherries)

-1/4 cup of silvered almonds

-2/3 cup heavy or whipping cream

1) Pour the milk into a small saucepan & stir in the ground almonds. Bring to a boil & than set aside. 

image_6

2) Put the egg & the extra yolk into a heatproof bowl with the sugar, and beat until pale & think. Pour in the milk & almond mixture. Place the bowl over a pan of gently simmering water and stir until thick. Stir in the almond extract and let cool. 

3) Put the cherries into a food processor or blender & process to a puree, then stir them into the custard. 

We used a blender & it worked to puree the cherries just fine!

Fotor01016113352

4) Toss the silvered almonds in a heavy pan over low heat to toast them. Let cool. 

5) Place the cherry mixture in an ice cream maker and pour in the cream. Churn and freeze. Mix in the toasted almonds. 

Fotor01016115531

6) Serve & Enjoy!

image_1

This wasn’t all too hard to make and it actually turned out much better than I expected! I’m not a huge fan of cherry ice cream or almonds in my ice cream but I have to say it was pretty delicious!

Leave a Reply

