No Soda September was a Success!

3 Oct

I am proud to say that I didn’t drink any soda in the month of September! I didn’t get into soda until the last few years and this past summer working at summer camp really sucked me into the drinking one to two bottles of diet coke a day. I really wanted to break that habit and I’ve found the best way for me to break bad habits is to stop cold turkey. That’s why I decided to give it up for the month of September.

diet-coke

It was hard the first few days, especially since I’ve had two 12 oz. bottles of diet coke in my fridge for the past month, but I’m proud to say I’ve made it! I’ve also had a hard time watching the box of Blueberry Pop that is hidden in my room not been touched in the past month. Such a good soda pop!

images

I’ve decided to continue not drinking soda for now, at least through October. I’d love to make it through 2014 without drinking soda but we will see how long those Blueberry sodas can stay hidden.

As much as I love soda, there are so many good reasons to not drink it.

1) No Nutritious Value:  Soda is made up of empty calories. That means it has no healthy nutrition to it. Drinking soda can actually make it harder for your body produce healthier nutrients from other healthy foods and drinks.

2) A Thinner Body: The empty calories that are in soda make soda drinkers consume 10% more calories a day than those who don’t drink soda. On a typical 2,000 calories diet this can result in gaining roughly 20 pounds a year! How insane is that! Especially if you are not an active person, those calories really add up!

3) Type II Diabetes: By not drinking soda you are avoiding those sugars that can cause type II diabetes. People who drink 1-2 servings of sugar in beverages have a 26% greater chance of developing diabetes than those who don’t drink soda at all.

4) Lower Blood Pressure: Drinking soda can lead to higher levels of glucose and fructose levels which can eventually lead to hypertension.

5) You Will Feel Healthier: The caffeine, the sugar, the calories… soda is just another drink that won’t help you stay healthy. Instead of reaching for that can of soda pop try grabbing a bottle of water!

There you have it! Five fun facts as to why soda isn’t healthy for you. Despite writing all of this I still grab a soda from time to time but not for the next month! No Soda October, here I come!

2 Responses to “No Soda September was a Success!”

  1. jaymeball13 October 3, 2014 at 15:28 #

    Keep it up! Soda is a tough habit to kick.

    • run50states October 19, 2014 at 21:41 #

      Thanks Jaymeball13! It’s been easier than I thought but I hope to keep this up for awhile… I do feel healthier now!

Leave a Reply

