The Fitness Game App: Review

1 Oct

I was excited when I came across this new app on my iPhone called The Fitness Game. After reading some reviews on it I decided to go ahead and download the app and see what all the excitement was about.

photo 1

After you log in, either by making an account or with Facebook, it brings you to a page with various options as to what you’d like to focus in on today for your workout. The options are strength training, cardiovascular, full body, or cross training. The one I chose most often was the cardiovascular so that I challenge others in running. The full body section is pretty nice too but I found that without a local gym it was harder for me to complete those challenges.

photo 2

Once I clicked on cardiovascular is brought me to my next set of options to choose from; running outdoor, running (indoors), biking outdoor, biking (stationary), swimming, rowing, or elliptical.

photo 3

Once I clicked on the ‘running outdoor’ part it lead me to choosing the distance / time that I wanted to run.

image

The first time I played around with this app I just chose one mile and it gave me options to choose an opponent in the area or worldwide. I chose the worldwide option since I figured it was a better chance of finding an opponent. It didn’t take long to find someone but it took a LONG time to wait for my opponent to accept the challenge. I eventually exited out of the challenge and decided to ‘challenge myself’ instead.

image

image_2

I was a little disappointed to find that when I put this app in the background to play my music it paused my GPS & timer for my run. It’s a quirk that I’ve heard the company is still working on so hopefully in the near future it will continue to time you as you pull up other apps.

I like this app but in my opinion it still has some tricks here and there that need to be worked on. Once those bits are fixed I think I will use it a lot more.

This post was sponsored by The FitnessGames through their partnership with Fit Approach. I was not compensated monetarily, but was provided the Platinum Version of the application for review. As always, all opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

