National Safety Month

10 Jun

I’ve recently been in contact with the managing editor at The American Recall Center, a site devoted to providing health and wellness news to their readers so they can take control of their life in a positive aspect. June is National Safety Month! This means by writing about ways to be safe and getting the news out there hopefully we can educate and encourage safe behavior among our family and friends. Here are some great things we can do just around our house to keep us safe!

SlipsTripsFalls_IG3

I enjoy keeping a clean and organized house and these tips and tricks to make it a safe home are things I will be adding to my monthly cleaning list for sure! National Safety Month isn’t just about being safe inside but also while you are out and about exercising. Here are some ways that I make sure to keep safe while out on runs.

  • React Mobile App: Back in November I reviewed an app for iPhone called React Mobile (you can read my review HERE ). I would highly suggest this app to anyone, even if you aren’t a runner! This app is so amazing because it gives you the capability to report incidents on your route as well as it’s tracking ability during your run. The first thing that pops up when you pull up the app is the SOS button which you can push in the case of an emergency. As soon as you activate the SOS it sends an emergent text message to a number that you have previously entered in. I love that feature and even tried it on my moms cell phone and it worked great!

picstitch

  • Water Bottle: Always a good idea to have a water bottle on any long run! I find myself forgetting to bring water and than regretting that decision real quick once I hit six miles or so. It’s always nice on race day when you get to those water stations and find yourself drinking one cup and than using one cup to cool off, especially during summer races. I’m not a fan of holding onto water bottles as I run but I find that I’d rather carry a water bottle and have it when I’m thirsty than not have it at all. Definitely a tip I would suggest to others!
  • Location Location Location: If I’m ever going on a long distance run I always always tell someone where I’m going or at least a time that I should arrive back. I usually carry my phone with me on any run but I can’t promise it will always be charged… I’m actually really bad about keeping my phone charged which is a habit that I definitely need to grow out of!
  • Dress appropriately: When it comes to half marathons I have a bad habit of dressing to be warm at the beginning of the race and than getting too hot through out the run. I get cold really easily so it’s easy for me to grab that athletic jacket on the way out the door and only wear it at the start line. Than I have to worry about it around my waist through out the rest of the run which reminds me of being in middle school again! I need to find that long sleeve that is just thin enough to be cool during my run but covers my arms to keep me warmer at the start… still searching!

I found this amazing gadget on runnersworld.com in which you can input the predicted weather conditions, the time of day you plan to run and how long you plan to run and it tells you what you should wear to be comfortable! I have absolutely fallen in love with this program!!

Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 11.00.33 PM

After you complete the short survey it brings you to another page where it tells you what to where to be comfortable in that weather. Amazing, isn’t it?

Screen Shot 2014-06-09 at 11.05.11 PM

I just recently found this program and have used it for every early run and long distance run! Now if only it was an app for the iPhone, right??? You can check out the site HERE . Also, be sure to check out The Recall Centers site for more information on preventing slips, trips, and falls HERE.

It is so important to keep ourselves safe and healthy through out the year. These are only a few of the tips and tricks we can use to do that, both inside and outside! Take this Safety Month and run with it… literally! 🙂

One Response to “National Safety Month”

  1. Jess@Flying Feet in Faith June 10, 2014 at 10:52 #

    Excellent excellent post! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

