I Run 4…

28 Mar

I found this organization, I Run 4, through a friend of my sisters and it has changed the way I run! They pair runners with an adult or child who has a disability or illness and while they encourage you to run and work hard in your training, you encourage them to stay strong through treatments they go through and just day to day activities. It’s actually a really neat group to be a part of and fantastic to have that accountability partner for all my training!

10007051_10203161085925491_1053444114_n

I heard about the group in November and signed up right than. I didn’t realize the group was so well known, I was on the waiting list to get a buddy for nearly four months!!! I have to say though, the waiting was well worth it! A few weeks ago I got an email that I had been paired and to check my Facebook messages. Waiting in my inbox was a message from my buddy’s parents introducing themselves and telling me a bit about their daughter. I am paired with a little girl who is almost two years old and suffers from a rare disorder. She is such an encouragement for me to  keep training and keep running! Her parents are so great too! They post updates on the ‘I Run 4’ Facebook page and tag me so I make sure to see them. They post photos of my buddy as well, I have to say her smile is so contagious! She is adorable and so great to have as a buddy!

I would suggest this group to ANY runner no matter your speed!!! Take my word for it, the waiting is so very worth it! Make sure to check out the facebook page HERE and their website HERE where you can sign up for a buddy!!! 😀

3 Responses to “I Run 4…”

  1. flyingfif March 29, 2014 at 02:34 #

    Thank you so much for sharing! I signed up! Runners are an awesome bunch. What a great way to show gratitude, heart, and kindness.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Saturday Shout Outs!!! | Running Races Coast to Coast - September 13, 2014

    […] also SUPER excited for tomorrow since my running buddies mom (through I Run 4) is doing her very first 5K!! How […]

Leave a Reply

