January Tips & Tricks

6 Feb

I’m taking this year day by day. In the past I’ve focused on future events and simply forgotten about the present. I can’t say this will be an easy goal to achieve or an over night change, but my daily words of encouragement and running tips have made it a bit easier to focus on the here and now. Here are some of my favorite January tips and tricks from my Runners World calendar.

image_2

What a great way to start the new year! John Bingham has written such encouraging books for runners and I love reading what he has to say. My mom was actually the first of us to discover Bingham’s love for running and has since than been brought closer to loving running herself.

image_4

I’m not sure I have tried compression socks but have read wonderful reviews on them all over the internet. My mom just bought a pair of compression toe-socks around Christmas time that she has expressed on many occasions that she loves! I think it’s safe to say I will be trying them out in the near future!
image-3

What’s the saying, “an apple a day keeps the doctor away”…. apparently apples do wonders for runners as well!

image-4

Who knew?!?! I’m not a big fan of bananas but I will eat a banana any day over a sweet potato! I was reminded very quickly a few months ago while making sweet potato gnocchi, from scratch may I add, that I dislike sweet potatoes. Bananas aren’t my favorite either but they sure do taste great after a half marathon!

image-6

This is a great fact for me to keep in mind. I always tend to start getting tired of running around mile three or four in any training or race, but this is a good way to try and stay focused and energized throughout my run! Better keep this one in mind!

So far I have loved my Runners World calendar! Can’t wait to share some of February’s tricks and trades with you at the end of the month!

Leave a Reply

