Snowball Shuffle 8k: Race Recap

5 Feb

I’m happy to say that I’ve started off 2014 with a pretty steady running schedule! It has helped to participate in the Winter Miles Challenge hosted by runwithjess BUT also to have signed up for the Snowball Shuffle 8k last month! I don’t know what I was thinking signing up for a virtual run in February but I’m proud to say I ran it OUTSIDE in the chilly weather!

My mom signed up for the 8k as well so we decided to run it together during the week of the race. It’s always hard to exercise together during the week with my work schedule and her work schedule so we planned to take a trip to the gym on Saturday to complete our race. My dad didn’t officially sign up for the race but he is always looking for opportunities to go on walks/runs so he joined us on Saturday as well. Evan though we got snow last week it was mostly all melted away by Saturday and we had gorgeous warm temperatures, so mom suggested we run outside instead of traveling to a gym. It was a little chilly at first but it warmed up after the first mile or two.

Running with a hood on is harder than it seems... it kept my head pretty warm though!

Having second thoughts about running in cold weather…

We decided to run on the Tobacco Trail near our house, which I haven’t run on in awhile so it was nice to get out and visit the old trail again! I was surprised by how many other runners I saw out and about on Saturday afternoon, than again it was the first warm day we’ve had in a week or so. I do have to admit that running outside was much better than running on a treadmill at the gym. Though I may have been able to get my 8k run done faster at the gym, it felt great to get out and get some fresh air!

Gorgeous running trails near our house!

Gorgeous running trails near our house!

They are currently working on making this trail longer, to run over the highway and towards the local mall, but haven’t finished it yet so when we got to the end where they were doing construction we had no choice but to turn around and head back towards the house.

image-6

I can’t wait until they have this trail finished! I think it’s suppose to be completed in the next year which will be great! Once we turned around we didn’t go back the same way, we ended up going a LONGER way all the way to the other side of our neighborhood so we made sure we got in the 8k miles.

More beautiful trails!

More beautiful trails!

Though this was called the SNOWball Shuffle race… we didn’t have much snow left. We saw a couple small piles of snow to the side of houses in the neighborhood but nothing much more.

This is about as much snow/ice we saw on our run.

  This is about as much snow/ice we saw on our run.

During the second have of our run, while we were on the other side of our neighborhood, we ended up running through a tunnel that I had forgotten was there. It goes under the main road in the neighborhood.. which was a good turning around point to head back home.

I think we had a little too much fun in the under road tunnel!

I think we had a little too much fun in the under road tunnel!

The first 4.97 miles were counted towards our 8k… than we kept going a little father completing a total of 6.46 miles for the day! I’m so glad we ran outside in the fresh air! It was a gorgeous run and I’m glad both my parents were able to complete it with me!

image-15

My dad didn’t buy a medal so I asked if he wanted to borrow mine for a photo. His response, “nope, I have a Kentucky basketball game to watch!” That’s my dad! 😛

I’ll definitely have to get out in the sunshine and run more outdoors during the warmer days of winter. I can’t express how relaxing it was to take a break from the gym and enjoy the great outdoors!

image-17

My first 8k… complete! Now on to running my virtual half marathon this month…

 

3 Responses to “Snowball Shuffle 8k: Race Recap”

  1. Jessica Dawn Morrison February 6, 2014 at 03:43 #

    Run with Jess has tons of great virtual races. She’s an excellent motivator! Very cool that your parents ran too. I’d love it if my rents would. But my 8 yo will do 😉 great run and way to go getting out in the chill! Dec through feb are usually tough months for sure.

  2. kristenk February 6, 2014 at 04:22 #

    I ran this race as well! Loved the recap!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Beautiful Day for a 13-Mile Bike Ride! | Running Races Coast to Coast - January 20, 2015

    […] year when my parents and I did the Virtual Snowball Shuffle 8k (Recap HERE) we ran the Tobacco Trail but they were still working on the trail beyond the bridge that runs over […]

Leave a Reply

