Racing With The Minions!!

28 Jan

I came across POWER GIRL Virtual Runs facebook page last week and found that they were trying to get rid of some old medals for cheaper prices while still raising money for cancer. I’m always looking for great virtual runs to participate in especially if they raise money for good causes! I loved the look of this group and, after a bit of research on their website, I decided to go ahead and run for them.

One of the main reasons I decided to run for them is, yes — they are raising money for cancer, but also they had just a few of the Scaring Cancers Butt medals left and the theme for that race is MINIONS! My friend, who is getting into more exercise and more running, LOVES minions, so I thought this would be a great motivation for her to keep forward in her exercise routine!

971824_10200647031163519_1896490491_n

When I found the running page last week I thought I remember reading the race was your choice of a 5k or 10k race. Well AFTER hearing back from the author of the page and ordering two scaring cancer’s butt medals I realized I was wrong! She was quick to email me our race bibs and upon opening them this is what I read.

IMG_6191

At first I was so excited for all the minions on the bib… and than I read the last line, Half Marathon!

1016793_10200797591847442_190067595_n

Of course that was after my payment went through… none the less I am determined to complete this virtual 13.1 mile run. My friend on the other hand… umm… here’s how that went. So I told her I signed us up for a virtual MINION themed race that we could do together at the gym. She was very excited that it’s a minions race and had faith that we could complete it together. Than I texted her the shocking news that it’s not a 3.1 mile race but a 13.1 mile race. I have an idea her face looked a little something like this..

1453433_10201027617917950_324374212_n

With a little bit of convincing and lots of reminding her that there would be a minion medal at the completion of our race, she agreed to do all 13.1 miles with me! We are going to split the miles through out a week so we aren’t doing all 13.1 miles in one day (that’s allowed, right?). This will be her first virtual race and first half marathon (and first racing medal!!) so I am stoked to be able to be doing this with her to support her through it… and to have her support me through it as well! We start tomorrow so wish us luck!

1238162_10200626489689995_1485191138_n

5 Responses to “Racing With The Minions!!”

  1. kelsnsher January 28, 2014 at 13:10 #

    Good for you being such a good influence on your friend! Such cute medals and an even Better cause to be running for! Good luck and I can’t wait to read how it went. (also I love the minion themed post lol)

  2. lisa J January 28, 2014 at 18:26 #

    love the accountability. I’ve done a few ‘virtual’ runs but never a virtual race. I actually found this site yesterday as I was looking for races http://www.willrunforbling.com/ — its all virtual races with medals. Sounds like your friend may be willing to tack on a few more races under her belt 😉

  3. Boho Chic Cafe January 30, 2014 at 12:18 #

    Go Rachel! You’ve got this 🙂

  4. Melissa January 27, 2015 at 00:04 #

    I would be very interested in purchasing any left over minion medals you may have. I am part of the I run 4 program and I have a little boy who is my run buddy that I dedicate all my runs too. He lives in Canada and has Pierre Robin Sequence-so because he cannot physically run, I run for him and he loves minions. Thank you so much!!

    • run50states January 27, 2015 at 15:24 #

      Melissa, Thanks for the comment. I have part of I Run 4 as well! I got the medal from POWER GIRL Virtual Runs. I’m not sure they have any ore minion medals left but you can message them on Facebook. Here’s the link, https://www.facebook.com/powergirlvirtualrunsforacure . Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

