New Food of the Month – January!

15 Jan

One of my goals for 2014 is to try a new food every month. Well last week I was at the grocery store with my mom when I saw pomegranate at the fruit stands at the front of the store. I thought, “This is perfect!! A fruit I haven’t tried yet!” We went ahead and bought one (at an expensive price may I add) and decided we would try it together!

pomegranate

I honestly thought this was like any other fruit. You cut it open, eat it like an orange, dispose the peel. I quickly learned this is NOT the way to eat it! I looked up on the internet how to cut a pomegranate and was very surprised at how hard this really is! I was amazed by the certain way you need to cut it, slice it open, and clean the seeds.

score text

I soon realized this was going to take longer than I thought to prepare this new snack! I found the picture above on one of the website I was looking on… that’s the point where I realized this was going to be a long process! I walked in the kitchen as my mom was cutting open this new fruit. That’s when I saw the immense amount of seeds that are truly in this one piece of fruit! I could feed a whole village with all the seeds we pulled out!

image

Apparently it’s bad to eat the white strands that surround the seeds so we had to carefully strip each seed of its surrounding white peel before rinsing off the seeds. Once we had all the seeds that we could mangle off the core of the pomegranate in the strainer, we rinsed them off real good and proceeded with the tasting.

Here’s my question about these curious fruits… are you suppose to eat the seeds inside the red part or not?!?! We ended up eating the seeds because after our ten minutes of prepping this pomegranate we were ready to taste it! It would have taken far too long to take the red bit off the seed to eat…

I was very pleased with my first bite! I was surprised how sweet the juice was. Very delicious!! It was the after taste that got me… that’s when the sourness of the juice hit me! It was like BAM in my mouth! It reminded me of the warhead candies that I ate when I was a child. It was like a party in my mouth!

image_1

This was a good food to try but I’m not sure I’ll be buying it all too often. Firstly because they are a bit expensive and secondly because they take so darn long to prepare! I do have to admit that this is a great fruit to munch on though! If you are looking for a sweet treat than pomegranate it is!

3 Responses to “New Food of the Month – January!”

  1. asstastic04 January 16, 2014 at 02:02 #

    They grow wild in west Texas where I’m from

  2. RachyMaz January 23, 2014 at 03:56 #

    I added them to an amazing salad recently with walnut, fetta and spinach leaves….purely because I’d seen a photo of the salad and it looked pretty! I then found a great way to remove the seeds whilst submerged in a bowl of water. LOVE pomegranate.

    • run50states January 23, 2014 at 14:58 #

      Adding them to my salad is a great idea! Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

