Winter Miles Challenge 2014

3 Jan

I will be the first to admit that I am a hermit from the month of October until February. I do not like the cold weather and certainly don’t like running in cold weather! I want to be running more than I am now so I’ve found the perfect solution to this! My mom let me know of the Winter Miles Challenge (hosted by Run with Jess) which keeps you accountable for your goal of miles ran over the colder months. This is just what I needed to find!

You can choose from five different distance goals that you want to accomplish each week: Beginner (10 miles/week), Intermediate (20miles/week), Trainer (30 miles/week), Advanced (40 miles/week), and Ultra (50 miles/week). At the end of each week you log your completed milage for the week and if you hit your goal distance than you are entered into drawings for prices! That’s a really nice add-on, though I love the idea of just pushing myself through the winter months!

Except for a trip to the gym (a few weeks ago) I really haven’t been doing a lot of exercising this winter so I can’t wait to start this goal! There are also t-shirts, hoodies, and medals for this challenge that are being sold on her blog so if that helps you in accomplishing your winter milage than go order them before they are sold out!

You can find more information about the Winter Miles Challenge HERE.

What are your winter goals this year? Happy Running!

 

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Winter Miles Challenge 2014”

  1. kristenk January 3, 2014 at 22:52 #

    Okay, this is awesome! I’m totally doing this now! I think it will work out nicely with my Run This Year challenge!

    • run50states January 3, 2014 at 23:03 #

      I am so excited about this challenge! Good Luck Kristen!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week Three of The Winter Miles Challenge | Running Races Coast to Coast - January 24, 2014

    […] wrote an entry about it when I signed up for it (you can read my initial thoughts on the challenge HERE). We are now into week three of the eight week challenge and I have to say that I DO feel […]

Leave a Reply

