React Mobile App Review

3 Nov

I was contacted by the founder of the React Mobile App to try out this free iPhone app and review it. When first reading about it I thought this was just another tracking app that does the same as others but I was wrong. Here’s what I learned from using this app.

So what’s so neat about this specific tracking app? “The React Mobile app turns your iPhone or Android smartphone into a powerful security device and also allows users to report incidents and criminal activity.” While having this app running, it tracks your location and can tell friends and family members your locations incase of an emergency. Once opening the app it takes you right to the SOS alert button which you can push to alert members of your contacts of your situation and your location.

image

With the push of a button an SOS alert with your GPS coordinates are sent to your selection of emergency contacts you’ve chosen. You can choose to send your SOS via text message, email, or you can even post it on Facebook/Twitter to alert your friends on social media.

image-4

I did a test run and sent an SOS text message to my mom to see how the message appeared on her end. This is what she saw when she received the message.

Screen Shot 2013-11-03 at 9.38.00 PM

My message was ‘Out running’ followed by my location. Once she clicked on the link it opened GoogleMaps on her phone and showed her my location.

image-1

If she were to zoom in she could see where I am and get directions to get to me. Both my parents were quite impressed with how this app worked. My mom even started to look more into it after I did the test SOS message with her phone.

This app is great for runners as myself. I feel much more comfortable running by myself with such an app like this on my phone. While reading their website I also saw that you can change your location so it knows what emergency number to dial in a situation in which you may need to contact police. “When they trigger an SOS alert they will be prompted to dial the appropriate emergency authority depending on where they are (ex: if they are in the UK the app will prompt a user to dial 112 not 911).”

I was pleased to see that this app was FREE! “Unlike many of our competitors we are offering our product as a free app as we believe that it is a safety tool that everyone with a smartphone should have at their disposal.” They have released this app for iPhone and Android smartphones and hope to release a Windows version in the next year. I encourage everyone, especially runners, to download this app and use it while out. You never know when you may need it!

2 Responses to “React Mobile App Review”

  1. Patti Smith November 5, 2013 at 02:54 #

    Downloading right now! I usually run with my dog, so I don’t worry so much about anyone bothering me (she’s a 95 lb. German Shepherd), but in a medical emergency, she wouldn’t be able to do much.
    Thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. National Safety Month | Running Races Coast to Coast - June 10, 2014

    […] App: Back in November I reviewed an app for iPhone called React Mobile (you can read my review HERE ). I would highly suggest this app to anyone, even if you aren’t a runner! This app is so […]

Leave a Reply

