The Color Run – Race Recap

3 Oct

This was my second Color Run that I’ve ran and it was so much fun.. especially because my sister got to do this one with me!

Pre-Race

The confirmation email that we received a few days prior to the run said that if we needed to pick up our numbers the day of the race that we should plan to get there early, 7am early! I told my sister that I didn’t want to wait in line and be late for the start so I wanted to plan to be there at 7am. We ended up arriving about ten minutes past seven and and there were TWO people in line to pick up their numbers… TWO! The race didn’t start until 9 so Sarah and I walked around Raleigh and found breakfast.

At the last Color Run I did in Virginia I had Starbucks after the race so I decided since there was one just a few blocks away that I would have Starbucks again. The two people behind the counter were asking about my Vibrams and asking if they were comfortable. The lady said she has been wanting some for awhile while the guy behind the counter said they freak him out! I didn’t notice until later but while making my iced coffee they wrote FINGER FEET on my cup instead of my name!!! Totally made my morning!

1240315_10101555268770738_2034805632_n

After breakfast we headed back to the car to shed our hoodies and long pants and pin on our numbers. We ended up meeting up with a friend who worked at one of our sister camps this summer who we ran the race with! I decided to wear my Color Run shirt from last year but I think I like this years design better! Excited to wear it!

Me & Nike before the race!

Me & Nike before the race!

IMG_3278

Sarah & I before the run!

Race

The first thing I noticed about the race was that there wasn’t as much music as the last one I ran. Β The music was nice so it was a little disappointing that we didn’t have that energy booster at the beginning. Once we crossed the start line we all looked forward to arriving at the first color station. One thing I forgot about Raleigh is that there are SO many hills!! Makes me think twice about the Rock ‘n Roll Half Marathon I have planned for April!!!

Here’s some of the race highlights during the course!

Me & Nike running to get color!!!!

Me & Nike running to get color!!!!

PINK!!!!

PINK!!!!

BLUE!!!!!

BLUE!!!!!

YELLOW!!!!

YELLOW!!!!

ORANGE!!!!

ORANGE!!!!

Sarah running through the ORANGE color!!

Sarah running through the ORANGE color!!

Sarah was told by one of her friends that to keep the color on, you're to "rub it in" so this was what we did after each color station! :P

Sarah was told by one of her friends that to keep the color on, you’re to “rub it in” so this was what we did after each color station! πŸ˜›

What was neat about this Color Run was that they had a water station about 3/4th of the way through the race! It wasn’t that hot out but it was nice to see a water station during such a popular race! The water cups were small plastic cups, quite a neat little souvenir that I’m sure I can use someplace in my running stuff! πŸ™‚

imageWe ended up crossing the finish line at about 41 minutes…. not bad for a Color Run! We slowed down at each color station and stopped to take photos quite a few times. I never time these types of races for a PR, they are more fun than anything!

Post-race

After the race we made it to the post-race party– Music, dancing, and of course HEAPS OF COLOR!!!

Me & Sarah post-race!

Me & Sarah post-race!

Me & Nike Post-Race!

Me & Nike post-race!

COLOR THROW!!!!

COLOR THROW!!!!

GROUP COLOR THROW!!!

GROUP COLOR THROW!!!

Love my sis! <3

Love my sis! ❀

I loved that we got to meet up with Nike for this run and do all it together! One of the things I was most impressed with was the parking… I know, I know that doesn’t have MUCH to do with the race BUT The Color Run I did in Virginia last year was probably the WORST traffic I’ve ever had to sit through for a race, much less a 5k. There was no traffic what so ever coming into Raleigh (of course it helped that we got there two hours early) and no traffic leaving! It was glorious!

This was a great run! Had a blast with Nike & my Sis!!! πŸ˜€

#Happiest5k

#Happiest5k

2 Responses to “The Color Run – Race Recap”

  1. Gigi October 3, 2013 at 19:13 #

    Oh boy I am already signed up for the RnR in April….I hate hills!!! LOL

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. THREE Days Until The Autism Run!!! | Running Races Coast to Coast - October 9, 2013

    […] am excited about the Autism walk/run on Saturday! It’s actually at the same location as The Color Run a few weeks ago… a pretty flat run except for one or two slight […]

Leave a Reply

