Chicago Women’s Half Marathon: Race Recap

16 Jul

The Chicago Women’s Half Marathon was a few weeks ago and, although I haven’t been running too much lately since I’ve been keeping myself super busy while working at camp, I was super stoked about this race!

Pre-Race

I flew into Chicago Friday evening and met my parents and my cousin at the airport. It was nice to see my cousin, Erin, since I haven’t seen her in about two years! After grabbing my luggage we hopped on the metro and made our way to our hotel and than to dinner. Friday was a pretty relaxing night since Erin and I had just flown in and I think we were all a little tired.

Saturday we got to sleep in a bit (but since I’m on a camp schedule I still got up at 7:45…  darn camp!). We started our morning by making our way to Fleet Feet to pick up our running shirts and bib numbers. That’s when the excitement really hit me!! I fell in love with the shirt as soon as I saw it, and of course seeing the medal displayed was a HUGE encouragement for me to complete the run!

After picking up our running bags we drove back to the hotel to drop our stuff off and than we started walking around Chicago with no plan what so ever… which was the best! All together on Saturday we probably walked a good five or six miles around Chicago, a great work-out before the 13.1 mile run we had planned for Sunday. We started out by walking up and down the boardwalk which was gorgeous! I could definitely see why Chicago is called “the windy city”… it was incredibly windy and chilly along the water but it felt super good!

The dark clouds starting to come in over the city

The dark clouds starting to come in over the city

We also walked past this really awesome outside concert hall! I’m not sure of the name but the outside architecture was amazing looking!

1.5

I had totally forgotten that The Cloud Gate (aka the “bean”) was placed in Chicago so after we left the concert lawn we found a map and ventured to find the bean. We figured it was big we couldn’t miss it, right? After a bit of walking and turning around we finally found it! It was AWESOME!

Erin & I in front of the bean :)

Erin & me in front of the bean 🙂

Erin & me under bean.. that was pretty cool!

Erin & me under bean.. that was pretty cool!

Playing with my reflection! :P

Playing with my reflection! 😛

We played at the “bean” for a good while than made our way to Millennium Park to see the Crown Fountain. Again, pretty cool to see! Plus, the water felt great since it was so hot out!

The children were so cute playing under the spitting fountain!

The children were so cute playing under the spitting fountain!

Our day was complete with a firework show from the rooftop of our hotel! That was a great ending to a long but exciting day!

7

Race Day!!

   Sunday woke up at a womping 5.30am for our morning run. For some reason I wasn’t dreading this race as I usually am before a big run when I haven’t ran in a good while. I was actually pumped and ready to run! I threw on my running skirt, my tech t-shirt, and my shoes, and we were off to the starting line. Dad came to see us off than retreated back to the hotel for breakfast until we finished.

At the start line. Didn't look like a lot of people running but there was a couple thousand!

At the start line. Didn’t look like a lot of people running but there was a couple thousand!

The race actually almost got canceled because the weather was so hot! I’ve never been to a race that almost got canceled… it was terrifying because 1) I flew all the way up to Chicago to run this and 2) if I didn’t run this half I would have to find another half to run in Illinois so I could cross that state off my list. Thankfully the heat didn’t get too high by Sunday morning so they went ahead with the run. I have to honestly say it wasn’t too terribly bad until about mile nine, maybe ten. Erin and I were running together and we had to start slowing down around that time because the heat was so extreme! The breeze had stopped at that point and we were both struggling to keep running, but we pulled through until the end!

Running along the boardwalk!

Running along the boardwalk!

Hot and sweaty around mile ten, but still smiling! :)

Hot and sweaty around mile ten, but still smiling! 🙂

I ended up drinking water at every water station (which is very rare for me) and than taking another cup of water to pour over my head.. it was THAT hot!

I ended up drinking water at every water station (which is very rare for me) and than taking another cup of water to pour over my head.. it was THAT hot!

Post Race

Erin and I ended up running the whole race together… all 13.1 miles!! When she originally told me she wanted to run with me the whole way I laughed at her just a little bit. I know she is faster than me and I didn’t want to slow her down so around mile three I told her to keep going and I may catch up, but she insisted we do this one together. It made me SO happy! We finished with a time of 3:06:57.

3140 4082 RACHEL WILMINGTON NC 24 Female         3:06:57

We had planned to run across the finish line together and get our photo together but they ended up taking our photos separately so we’re have to figure out a way to crop them together but they turned out pretty good!13

Mom finished about 20 minutes after Erin and me. I am so incredibly proud of my mother! This was an especially a hard race for her to complete because of her knee (and the heat) but she finished it strong and earned every bit of that finishers medal!!!

Erin, Mom, & Me at the finish!

Erin, Mom, & Me at the finish!

photo

2 Responses to “Chicago Women’s Half Marathon: Race Recap”

  1. Dan July 17, 2013 at 18:59 #

    I went for a run around 8:30, so two hours into your race. I went south on the lake front path and saw the thousands of women running north to the finish line on my left. It was definitely hot out there, so congratulations on getting through the heat! Also, that amphitheater is called Pritzker Pavilion, and yes, the architecture is quite breathtaking. Hope you had fun afterward in the city!

    • run50states July 17, 2013 at 20:13 #

      Thanks for the comment! It was incredibly hot but such a fun and gorgeous course. 🙂

Leave a Reply

