January in Review

5 Feb

Total Mileage: A measly 8 miles.  Not really pleased with this BUT if you factor in the fact that I despise running in cold weather… this doesn’t look too bad, right? Ok, really though, 8 is such a small number! I’m defiantly on the right track this month in getting a much higher mileage!

Races Planned/Races Completed: (0/0) January I had no races planned which was nice just so I could get back into running… which didn’t go as planned only running 8 miles. I usually tend to take off the colder month from races anyways just because it’s not my favorite time of the year to run.

Accomplishments for January: 

  • Finally got around to making a doctors appointment that I’ve been putting off for MONTHS!
  • Signed up to run the Rock ‘n Roll Half Marathon in DC with my friend, Sarah.
  • Had a great DDR night with my girlfriend AND took her on a jog right afterwards! I’m so proud of her!
  • Started my new job.
  • Made a decision about my summer plans.

Current Book: It takes me a long time to get through a book. I’m such a slow reader but sometimes I don’t see that as a bad thing. One of my goals for the new year is to get through more books. Since December I’ve been reading Portia de Rossi’s book titled ‘Unbearable Lightness: A Story of Loss and Gain’. This book has been such an inspiration for me. I’ve learned a lot from it, especially about myself. It’s a bit shocking that I can see myself in this book but I think that’s put a lot of thoughts in my head about what needs to change in my life. Such a good read!

de-rossi-unbearable-lightness_211Current Excitements/Obsessions: 

  • I’m super stoked about the Mambo 10k race coming up in mid-February. I’ve never been to Louisiana and I’ve never done a 10k so this will be a great trip of firsts for me!
  • I’ve been trying to eat more fruits and vegetables lately which is pretty exciting in my book.

Current Treat: Since I’ve been trying to eat more fruits and veggies lately I picked up some carrots and hummus this past weekend with I was at the grocery store. YUMMY!

url

Current Goal: I’ve never ran a 10k race before but I want to set a time goal to try and beat for the Mambo 10k. Lately my 5k time has been in the high 30’s… 37 minutes was my last one I believe though that was back in November. I would love to run this 10k race in less than one hour but realistically I don’t think that’s going to happen. I think my official goal is going to be 1 hour and 15 minutes. Surely I feel like I can beat that but I’ve added 15 minutes on the hour goal to give myself some le-way.

How was your January? What are your goals for February?

2 Responses to “January in Review”

  1. Lisa J February 5, 2013 at 18:57 #

    I don’t remember what I was watching (might have been Ellen), but whoever it was they had Portia on their show when the book was being released and showed photos of her during her anorexia stage, so scary. Glad you were able to take something away from the book. Most January recaps I’ve read yielded low mileage results for the start of the new year. Aside from deep south and california, I think everyone had a colder than norm winter.

  2. Darlene Cardilo February 9, 2013 at 22:53 #

    Good luck on your first 10k…an automatic PR.. I hate the cold too but have no choice but to run in it.

Leave a Reply

