‘I’m Only Running So I Can Eat Cupcakes Later’

29 Jan

I had a really nice and relaxing weekend… with a run added in there of course! Saturday my girlfriend and I spend a majority of the day baking, a favorite for us. We decided to be brave and bake two things at once! Now, if you know me at all you know that how ever long it says on the recipe it will take to bake or cook anything, it usually takes me about twice as long. I’m not good with directions, or following them for that matter. When I am in the kitchen I get bored with what I am SUPPOSE to do and start to do my own thing about half way through… yea, I know, there are directions for a reason! What we baked on Saturday turned out pretty good though!

Apple Cinnamon Pull Apart Bread

image

 The directions said to ‘wisk’ and since I couldn’t find the wisk I used a fork. Note: Forks should not replace a wisk! This photo was taken after about 40 minutes of stirring with a fork. (This is what I mean when I say I can’t follow the directions, haha). Luckily my housemate got down the blender and we got that bad boy stirred up!

image (2)

   Eventually it looked like this! Our homemade dough with apple pieces and cinnamon in between each layer. It smelled SOOO good!!

image (3)

   We than cut the block in pieces and turned it on its side to place in the baking dish to get the ‘pull apart’ effect.

image (4)

   Once it came out of the oven and we got the glace on it this bad boy looked, and smelled, great! By this time it was about 11 o’clock at night and we were so exhausted from baking all day so we didn’t taste too much of it, just little bits and pieces off the top. I have to honestly say that the outside of the loaf tasted a little dry while the inside tasted almost too moist. I’m not sure if we missed an ingredient or maybe didn’t bake it enough but either way it was still pretty good!

   During the four hour bread baking time, probably while we were waiting an hour for the bread to rise, we decided to make cupcakes!! OUR FAVORITE!! (I’m thankful I took a run BEFORE the baking, otherwise I would have never wanted to leave the house with all the sweet smells of sugary treats!) We have about four or five cupcake books full of recipes that we haven’t even touched thus far, and though we were trying to find a recipe where we had all the ingredients to bake one we decided to just go with my favorite kind… Funfetti cupcakes with rainbow chip icing!

image (1)

   They were so delicious! And yes, that is a Christmas cupcake wrapper. We still have heaps of holiday cupcake wrappers that we didn’t get around to using. Like I said before, I felt better about baking all these treats since I went for a run earlier in the day. I even wore the shirt my parents got me for Christmas!

IMG_4698

I’m Only Running So That I Can Eat Cupcakes Later!

   That shirt was so perfect for the day! The whole weekend really. Believe it or not, we didn’t stop the kitchen festivities on Saturday! Sunday morning we woke up to make cinnamon roll waffles. “What are those?” you may ask. Simply cinnamon rolls put into the waffle maker than squeezed into waffles! I feel like part of me like this form of cinnamon rolls better than regular ones!

image (5)

   Step one, simply place cinnamon rolls in waffle maker and press down.

image (6)

   Step two, remove from waffle maker and cover in icing! Wa-la! These were delicious! A wonderful twist on cinnamon rolls! Now I feel like I have a lot of running to do this week after a very *sweet* weekend! 🙂

What’s your favorite thing to bake? Do you always follow the directions precisely? 

Leave a Reply

