Holiday Happenings

4 Dec

I feel like alot has been going on since Thanksgiving… even though as I look back at the past week I haven’t really been all that busy. Not as busy as I should be for sure!

Holiday Card Exchange!!

I signed up to participate in a holiday card exchange with Kim at (Just) Trying is for Little Girls and just got the email this morning with fellows runners in my card sending group. There are only four or five of us total (much less than I suspected). I’m quite excited to either go out and buy cards with personalized notes in each one for each of these blog writers or make homemade cards for them. I’m a very artsy person and without having a job right now I find I have quite a bit of free time to work on my families home made gifts…. what’s a few more holiday cards? 🙂

https://i1.wp.com/2.bp.blogspot.com/-hbMftOweIUk/ULbMiF4RanI/AAAAAAAAE24/PT0YJ2A6q9U/s1600/2012+card+exchange+snowman.jpg

Ankle Update

Well I haven’t brought up my ankle in the past couple of months. For those new readers, about a year and a half ago (July 2011) I broke my right ankle and had to have surgery to get a metal plate and screws put in. That delayed my running for a good four or five months and it wasn’t until the beginning of this year that I really started to work myself up to races again. The last race I did, the Turkey Trot afew weeks ago, did my ankle pretty well. It wasn’t really bothering me afterwards and all seemed well. Of course that took place in Florida where the weather is slightly warmer than here in North Carolina. It always seems to bother me more in the colder months.

Last Friday I took a four mile walk to campus and back and ever since than my ankle has been throbing and achey. I’ve iced it afew times and have had it stretched which seems to be helping! Hopefully it won’t bother me too much in the next few weeks (or else, hopefully I can figure out a way to cure the pain). Now that I don’t have a job anymore I’m making it a point to go on a walk everyday. Perhaps that will help the pain as well.

Any suggestions are welcome!!

2 Responses to “Holiday Happenings”

  1. emmagreenie December 17, 2012 at 18:06 #

    Wow, so sorry to hear about your ankle surgery! I have had 2 ankle surgeries in the last 5 years (due to tendon problems, not broken bones) and it’s so hard to get back into the swing of things after recovery. You are amazing for creating such a great goal for yourself, even after going through something so hard! Best of luck on your 50 state challenge!

    • run50states December 17, 2012 at 19:27 #

      Thank you! It’s been a struggle but I’m determined to succeed! Best of luck to you as well!

Leave a Reply

