Good News… Bad News…

1 Nov

Today I sit to bring you readers good news and bad news in my running life. Which do you want first? Well, I always like to end on a good note so here’s to the bad news first…

I’ve been looking forward to the Griffith Park Trail Half Marathon ever since I put my name down for it months ago. Now, less than a month until the race, I’ve been having second thoughts about this run. There are many reasons for this.

1) I don’t have hotel plans yet (and with the race being the weekend before Thanksgiving, I’m afraid anything I find will be well over my budget).

2) I don’t have flight tickets yet (and, once again, these will be well expensive with the race being so close to Turkey Day).

3) I don’t have anyone to travel with.

4) I’m not prepaired for 13.1 miles running on a trail.

For these reasons, especially the fourth one, I have decided to drop out of the Griffith Park Trail Run. It’s so hard for me to say this because I have never volunteered to not run a race that I have signed myself up for. Of course there was the triathelon in 2011 that couldn’t participate in because I was on crutches, but that wasn’t my choice. There was no way I could have done that race. This race is completely different. If it were closer to me, not around the Thanksgiving holiday, and had someone to come with me, (not to mention had I trained a little harder for a 13 mile trail run), I think I could do it. I’m just not ready. Hurts so bad to say that but I know it’s true. Maybe one day.

Moving onto GOOD NEWS now! Last week I won a FREE entry to Mardi Gras Mambo 10k in Baton Rouge, Louisiana thanks to Beth at http://i-run-like-a-girl.blogspot.com/. I’m so excited about this 10k run! I’ve never been to Louisiana and on top of that, I’ve never ran a 10k race before! (Shocker, right?) I’m going to try and talk my parents into running it with me which will be pretty fun!


I plan to sign up for this race in the next week (and make travel and hotel plans shortly after so I don’t get stuck in the same boat as I have for the Griffith Park Trail Run). I’ll keep you all updated!

2 Responses to “Good News… Bad News…”

  1. Sarah November 6, 2012 at 02:09 #

    yay Rachel! Sorry about the run you can’t do, but this one sounds like something to be really excited for. I’ve never been to Louisiana either. I’m sure it’ll be a lot of fun!

  2. bclay1114 November 25, 2012 at 22:56 #

    thats sucks. no stalking my future wife hannah hart for me then i guess =P.

Leave a Reply

