Amica Half Marathon: Race Recap

30 Oct

Ever since I returned from Rhode Island my life has been kind of hectic. Working at a Halloween store this time of year makes for a pretty busy schedule. Hence why it’s taken me so long to get this race recap up and running.

PRE-RACE

We arrived in Rhode Island on Saturday just in time to pick up our race bags. First off, Rhode Island is absolutely gorgeous! This was my first time in the state of Rhode Island and from what I had heard of it from friends I was totally excited for this race and to see the sights and sounds of this coastal state. I was disappointed right off the back when we went to pick up our race packets though. For most, if not all, of the half marathons I’ve ran there has been a huge expo with heaps of stations and lots of things to look at. I was surprised when we walked right up to what looked like a circus tent to find that’s where we would be picking up out running stuff. At first I thought it would be different inside and maybe there was more than what it looked like from the outside…. but it wasn’t. There was the t-shirts table, the goodie bag table, than MAYBE ten other sations that were selling fun stuff. I didn’t except the weather to be so cold up north so while there I was looking for a good pair of gloves or a beanie or something to keep me warm but I didn’t see anything at the expo that really caught my eye. Mom and I did see a station that was giving away free samples of 5 hour energy, even the new pink lemonade ones they have out this month for breast cancer awareness. I haven’t gotten into them yet but I’m excited to try them out. Mom and I did get our picture taken with our numbers to show that we were ready and excited for the run!

RACE

Mom and I woke up pretty early on Sunday to make it to the start line in time which we found to be RIGHT across the street from our hotel! What I was originally was going to wear to run in was quickly changed when I stepped outside and felt like I was in the North Pole! I ran right back up to our hotel room to put on some more layers, though I knew I was going to regret it acouple miles in.

The planned outfit before I realized it was SO cold out!

I ended up adding a light jacket, gloves, AND earmuffs. The earmuffs came off first, within the first mile, than the gloves, around mile three, and the jacket stayed on the whole time, though the sleeves did get rolled up a great number of times because I was sweating so badly!

At the start line all bundled in my three layers on clothes!

I have to say, this is the most scenic race I’ve ever run! The sights were breathtaking! We ran through gorgeous neighborhoods, next to the farmland where we saw horses and cows and goats, near the sound where the huge sailboats were sitting… it was amazing! Here’s just some of the photos I took throughout the run!


It was so windy near the water that the ‘mile 8’ sign got knocked down!

This was around mile nine right after the water station… I missed my mouth and the cold water ended up on my jacket. That definetly didn’t make it any warmer out!

Getting back towards the start/finish line!

The homestretch!

POST RACE

I finished with a time of 3:11:58. It’s pretty good I guess for not running a half marathon in more than a year but I could have done better had I ran more before the race. I waited at the finish line for Mom to cross and recieve her medal (where I was soooooo happy I didn’t ditch my jacket during the run since the finish line was on the water and it was extremely windy)!

The medals for this race are super cute. Nothing extroidinary but I like the sailboat and the bridge that is displayed on it… it shows exactly what we saw in Rhode Island.

As far as the sights go, I would highly reccomend this run to people. Based on anything else (the expo, the start, the finish line snacks), it wasn’t the best. But all in all it was a good run and I’m proud to say that I can knock Rhode Island off the list now! 🙂

2 Responses to “Amica Half Marathon: Race Recap”

  1. katie @ fromicecreamtomarathon November 28, 2012 at 19:49 #

    What a great recap, and you did wonderful! That’s so sweet that your mom ran with you! I think the last time I was in RI, I was about 2 years old. I need to go again, I’ve heard it’s beautiful!

    • badblueduck November 29, 2012 at 19:15 #

      Rhode Island was absolutly beautiful! I would go back anyday!

Leave a Reply

