What Do You Want in a Race?

14 Mar

B from yes, folks. i run like a girl posted these questions today about what you look at when you run races. I’ve never thought about it before I read through her answers, but while answering these questions in my head I found that I’m very picky when it comes time to run a big race. See for yourself.

1. Do you prefer a lower race fee/fewer frills or are you willing to pay extra for a nice premium?

Personally I like to pay the little extra for a ‘nice premium’. Nothing TOO fancy, but I do enjoy having big crowds around every (or most every) corner, especially during half marathons, to cheer us runners along. The crowds of people really do push me to go faster and farther. If it’s a big, well known race than there’s more of a chance there are going to be more people cheering.

2. At the finish line, do you want something simple like bagels and bananas, or do you want goodies like beer, pizza, and desserts?

I definetly prefer the bagels and bananas over the pizza and desserts!! As long as there is lots of fruit at the finish I’m happy!

3. Is a finisher’s medal important to you or do you think they should be reserved only for those who place?

VERY IMPORTANT!! I think that, especially for bigger races like half and full marathons, every finisher should recieve a medal. We train for months to finish the 13.1 mile run, weather we try to beat a certain time in mind or just hope to finish I think that all finishers deserve a medal to show their hard work and determination. I know for me finisher medals are very important and I, for one, display them proudly on my wall for all to see!

4. Do you prefer a big race with a high cap on participants or something a bit more intimate?

I think I prefer a bigger race. As I said before, that usually means more people in the crowd to cheer you on. Plus with more runners that means I have more people to compete with!

5. Expo or no expo?

I love expos! I don’t normally buy things while I’m there or spend too much time looking at products but they get me really excited and pumped for the race! There is usually also a chance for you to browse at upcoming races and sign up super cheap if you decide than and there to run it. 🙂

How would you answer these questions? What do you think about finisher medals?

3 Responses to “What Do You Want in a Race?”

  1. Beth (i run like a girl) March 15, 2012 at 04:57 #

    I enjoyed reading your answers. Great post!

  2. Jen March 17, 2012 at 23:59 #

    I am on the fence. I love a small race, but at the same time being someone who is slower at the small races there usually isn’t much left at the finish line and that is when I like a larger race.

    • run50states March 29, 2012 at 17:15 #

      Good point, Jen! Didn’t think about that fact. I suppose for half marathons I enjoy bigger races because I find that I finish far enough towards the beginning that I get the “good food” (haha) but with 5k’s I guess I could go either way. Smaller 5k’s are fine to run for me since they are smaller races anyways.

Leave a Reply

