March & April Races Planned

6 Mar

Finally signed up for some races!! I discovered in the past couple of days that it takes alot for me to put down money on running races. I just get so nervous and high strung right before hitting that ‘submit’ button when registering. Especially for big races where I than need to find travel and hotel plans as well. These races that I signed up for over the weekend are merely 5k’s though, so it wasn’t AS stressful as putting my name down for a whomping 13.1 mile run, but still made me heart race a bit.

I ended up signing up for the St. Patricks Lo Tide Run at Carolina Beach in two weeks (yikes) and the Raleigh Rocks 5k which takes place on April 1st. Both 5k runs and both in North Carolina so, as stated above, I don’t have to worry about places to stay or traveling so much.

   This Lo Tide Run should be super fun! I was so hesitate to run this race for the longest time because I was told that the beginning of the race takes place ON the sand and since that’s how I broke my ankle about nine months ago, you can probably imagine I am NOT a fan of sand anymore! While doing more research, my BFF found that it’s only the first 100 meters or so that take place on sand, so my plan now is to take the first 100 meters to walk and warm up and than start my run once I get to the road. Sounds like a good plan, eh?


Also took the time to sign up for the Raleigh Rocks 5k on April 1st. I don’t think I am AS excited about this race for a few reasons.

1) It’s in Raleigh which means lots of hills. When I did the City of Oaks Half Marathon in Raleigh afew years ago I vowed I would never do another race in Raleigh! The hills were killer and it was probably my worst time to date. There’s much difference between 3.1 miles and 13.1 miles though.

2) Since it’s a 5k AND a half marathon race it’s sure to be crazy busy! Pretty sure there are going to be heaps of bands playing and lots of yummy food but if I’m not there for the half marathon than I don’t want to go through all those crazy crowds!

These races will cover my races for March and April and I’ve found a few that take place in May, but I’m still doing some research on those and figuring out expenses and what distances I want to run. I have until March 12th (six more days!!) to sign up for the Amica Half Marathon in Rhode Island before the prices go up. I suppose the only thing really holding me back right now is my trip being planned for California in November and how much that’s going to cost. As long as I save a good chunk of money between now and than I can probably do both.

Has anyone run the Amica Marathon in Rhode Island before? What did you think of it?

Leave a Reply

