Triple T (Three Things Thursday)

9 Feb

1. AmeriCorps

  
I’ve had major thoughts lately about joining the AmeriCorps Program recently since I’ve graduated from college now and currently don’t have a full time job (this relates to running, I promise! Just keep reading.) I don’t know too terribly much about the program (i.e. the difference between the NCCC & VISTA, how long the different programs last, the specifics in each of the areas you can choose to work with, etc.). I have a friend who lives in Durham who finished the AmeriCorps in the past year I think, so I’m hoping to catch up with her, grab some coffee, and ask my list of questions to see if this is what I really want to do.

   I’ve also heard alot people say they wish they had done something like this before getting into their current job, which makes me feel like if I decide to do it I should do it NOW. Plus there’s the little fact that the max age for alot of the programs I’ve found is 24 and I turn 24 in August, so I’m literally on a deadline here.

On the main AmeriCorps website I’ve been trying to look at varies programs/locations/projects to do and I find the only one that is coming up that hasn’t already started in 2012 starts in October (either that or I’m not looking in the right spots, who knows…). As I said above I’m not really sure WHAT to apply for, HOW to apply, or WHEN to apply so I very well could be very late for the opportunity.

::Here’s where the running part comes in::

IF I’m not too late to apply for the AmeriCorps and I do get accepted that would mean I would most likely leave in the fall and therefore couldn’t run half marathons until I returned home from the program, probably 10 months. That’s a long time to not be doing any long distance races! I suppose at this moment I just need to focus on weather this program is for me or not and apply. After I apply, I guess I can figure out where to go from there.

2. Running Confessions

Oh boy. Here we go. So the thing is… I was so set on running the Rock ‘n’ Roll Virginia Beach Half Marathon over Labor Day weekend acouple of weeks ago. I persuaded myself that would be the first half I’d sign up for for 2012 and I wanted to put my name down before the end of January in order to avoid higher prices. WELL… the day before the prices were suppose to raise I checked online and apparenetly the price had already shot up 10 or 15 dollars. Unfortunetly I decided not to sign up for that race this time around (which is a HUGE bummer since I love that route).

If I don’t get accepted, or decide not to join, the AmeriCorps in the fall than I’m looking at doing the Amica Half Marathon in Rhode Island on October 14th (suggested by Lisa @ runacrosstheus ). The price is still really low for that race and doesn’t rise again until April or May, so that should give me plenty of time to figure out my potential volunteer plans with AmeriCorps.

I also want to get a race done before summer time, preferably in late April or May (and if time allows me to plan accordily, in a state I haven’t done yet as well). I found afew in New Mexico that are closeISH to a friend that lives out there so we’ll see about those.

3. This Song Just Isn’t The Same Anymore…

Afew days ago while I was stretching before a workout I was listening to slower music (I keep the loud, upbeat stuff for during my workout) and Adele’s Set Fire to the Rain song came on. This is probably one of my favorite songs by her so you would think I would get excited every time it came on the radio or my ipod, eh? Well, I do but I also laugh a little bit inside. The very first time I heard this song was at a dragshow downtown! So now when this song comes on I think of dragqueens singing and dancing to Adele’s song. Too funny, right?

Is it bad that I'm jealous of how toned some drag queens are? 😛

Can anyone give me advice about the AmeriCorps Program?

2 Responses to “Triple T (Three Things Thursday)”

  1. Darlene Cardillo February 15, 2012 at 22:21 #

    I guess you need to find a half before you leaver the States.

  2. Darlene Cardillo February 16, 2012 at 19:01 #

    Also, you won my giveaway. Send me your e-mail address.

Leave a Reply

