Freeze Your Thorns Off Virtual 5k Race Recap

30 Jan

Yesterday I went on a four mile walk/jog with my parents where my mom and I took 3.1 miles of that to count towards the FYTO5K (Freeze Your Thorns Off Virtual 5k). My time wasn’t great, it took longer than I expected, but I suppose that’s what I get for not running for six months. My time for the 5k was 43 minutes; all together for the four miles my time was 1:02:00… that’s roughly a 15 minute pace. I’ve done better in the past week on the treadmill; running outside in the cold messes with my breathing so I tend to avoid it as much as possible.

I used dailymile.com to find our 3.1 mile route near our house and decided the tobacco trail that runs through our city would be best since it was really flat (per my mom’s request) and lots of other people would be on that same trail. As I said before it was chilly outside so I kind of wasn’t looking forward to the run at all (have I mentioned I hate running in the cold?) but I worked through it and did what I could.

The first bit was probably the hardest. For the first half mile or so we had to run along the road to get to the actual trail. There’s one big hill that I dread every time I head towards the Tobacco Trail (should have gotten a photo of it). Once I was past that hill though I felt pretty good about the run, and I tell you it didn’t take long for my long sleeve shirt to come off! Glad I decided to wear another running top on under! Getting on the trail gave me a good push to run for awhile, unfortunetly the cold got a hold of me and I had to slow down for a bit. I ran with my mom for a good part of the run and than when she told me to go ahead of her I took off for the finish of the 3.1 miles which I could see just ahead of me. As I crossed the 3.1 mile marker I waited for my parents, who weren’t far behind me, and we walked/lightly jogged the next mile home. It was a good run but I so hope to get better at that specific trail in the next couple of months.

Week Workout Plan

Monday: 3 miles

Tuesday: 2 miles

Wednesday: 1 mile

Thursday: 2 miles

Friday: REST

Saturday: 3.1 miles (February Facebook virtual 5k)

Leave a Reply

