11 Random Facts & Questions (Mostly About Running)

24 Jan

I recently came across this challenge to write 11 random facts about yourself and than answer 11 questions about running. I’ve decided that since this is a fairly new blog I’m going to write mostly about my running experience/dreams but I’ll also throw in some facts about me so you all can get to know me more. So not to hesitate, here we go…

11) This past July I broke my right ankle by running into the ocean. Never thought you would hear someone say that, eh? I was camping on the beach with some good friends and was ready for a swim at two in the morning (when the sun had set and the dark sky was out). I did fine running over all the dunes in the sand, it was a stupid hole in the sand that someone didn’t fill in after they were done digging that got me. Took me out of running for six months!

After the Surgery

10) I ran my first half marathon (the Shamrock Virginia Beach Half) at the age of 16, I’ve been hooked ever since.

9) I’ve been eyeing these new trainers for a long time now. I suppose they are a pretty good price for running shoes (and they are on sale right now which is a bonus!!). They are skele-toes by Fila. Does anyone use toe shoes like these? How do you like them?

8) My favorite race thus far was the Walt Disney World Half Marathon I ran in 2009. I’m determined to do the Goofy’s Race & a Half one day.

7) The worst race I’ve ever ran, thus far, was the City of Oaks Half Marathon in Raleigh, NC. That one was soooo hilly!

6) I’ve recently found a handful of ‘virtual races’ and love the idea of them, but prefer proper races where you get up at 6am, wear a number of your front, and run in a crowd. Something about running with a crowd pushes me harder.

5) I’ve completed one triathelon, which was harder than I thought it would be, but would love to do another one and beat my first time!

4) I still have yet to do a full marathon. I’m actually really scared of doing one because it’s a really far distance, but I’m determined to run the full 26.2 miles one day!

3) I would rather run in a running skirt than shorts or pants any day!!

2) After I complete a Half Marathon in every state I want to move onto crossing countries off of my list, starting with Canada.

1) Now that January is almost over I’m thinking that my goal of running 400 miles in 2012 will be really easy.

Now to the second part…

Q1) What is the last thing you took a photo of?

Silly photos of my friend and I on my laptop.

Q2) What made you decide to start your blog?

I’ve had a blog since 2006 but recently decided to start this blog because I find that I write alot about my running on my other blog. I wanted a place where I could focus strictly on my running goals and training and thoughts about future races.

Q3) If you had to listen to one song on repeat for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Edge of Glory – Lady Gaga. Easy question.

Q4) What’s one race on your “bucket list”?

I have alot of bucket list races (per my bucket list page) but I suppose the one I can’t wait to run one day is the Princess Disney Half Marathon.

Q5) If you could be on any TV show, what would it be?

The Amazing Race. Another easy question.

Q6) If you could start your own race, what distance would it be?

   A bit of a hard question. I’d really want to start a half marathon but would probably have a hard time finding funding, the right location, etc. I suppose my answer would be a 5k.

Q7) What would you name said race?

   Tough question. It took me a long while to get the right name for this blog, you really think I can think of a make believe 5k right off the back? haha

Q8) If you were forced to eat like something other than how you eat now, which would you choose? (Vegetarian, Vegan, Paleo, Pescetarian, Kosher, Cannibal, etc…)

   Well I’m already a vegetarian so I suppose I’d have to go with vegan. I actually wanted to go vegan acouple of years ago but found it was really hard and super expensive to do. It also takes alot of research to eat vegan.

Q9) If you could rid the world of one social application, which would it be?

   Probably twitter. I’m not a fan.

Q10) If you could choose one person to train with, who would it be?

   I have been listening to alot of Jillian Michaels podcasts lately and I really enjoy her and everything she has to say about trainging and especially nutrition.

Q11) Pirates or Ninjas?

   Pirates. Nough said.

Feel free to take this and write facts about yourself and answer these questions! Happy Tuesday!

4 Responses to “11 Random Facts & Questions (Mostly About Running)”

  1. Lisa Jameson January 25, 2012 at 02:58 #

    Hi Rachel- thanks for commenting on my blog today. I took a look at your race bucket list- I’ve ran 3 of them- Cincinnati Flying Pig, Wisconsin 1/2, and Princess 1/2. My recaps are under the racing the states tab and those are my Ohio, Wisconsin, and FL races.

    I will say that so far, Wisconsin 1/2 has been my favorite and holds my current PR. It helps that the medal is AWESOME (cheese shape) + you get free brat and beer afterward. Flying Pig had great spectator support, its hilly, but I live in Nashville so I’m use to hills. Expo is amazing. Princess 1/2 was okay. All disney races are just okay as far as the course- you can normally expect only about 4-5 miles in the park. As long as you aren’t racing for time and take the opportunity to get photo opps, then it makes it much more enjoyable.

  2. Lisa Jameson January 25, 2012 at 03:01 #

    oh oh both my CT and RI races are THE RACES you want to do for those states. ING HARTFORD and AMICA NEWPORT RI— both are scenic with some of the most beautiful views – as an added bonus, great lack of elevation! 🙂

  3. Darlene Cardillo January 26, 2012 at 17:49 #

    I beat you – I broke TWO bones in my ankle. I prefer skirts to shorts also. I only have 3 states done – wish I started running younger. YOU WILL RUN A MARATHON!!

  4. Brian January 27, 2012 at 03:13 #

    Yes, finally. Pirates, ftw.

Leave a Reply

