Music is a Powerful Thing

23 Jan

I was planning to take the weekend to recoperate from my runs last week since I was super sore and I didn’t want to jump back in too quickly. After a long day of work yesterday, I some how found the energy to go to the gym and do a mini run though (by mini I mean I only ran 1 mile). I probably wouldn’t have gone but when I recieved a text from a friend saying, “I was hoping you would join me for a run at the gym…” I felt like I couldn’t say no. Not only would I feel lazy sitting on the couch watching episode after episode of ER while she was at the gym sweating through every mile, but I thought I owe it to myself after eating the handful of junk food this weekend. Though it was only a mile run, I’m proud that I laced up my shoes and at least did that!

I am proud to say that I ran a whole mile without stopping. That may not be such great news to all you people who can run a great number of miles without stopping, but this news coming from someone who couldn’t run for six months due to a broken ankle… well, it’s fantastic news! It wasn’t my best pace but to say that I did a mile without stopping is good enough for me. Now I can work on running longer distances and at a faster pace. What really got me through that mile though was the upbeat music I had blarring out of my IPod and into my ears. Last night I was listening to one of PINK’s albums, skipping all the slower songs of course. When I found the perfect song that gave me just enough of a boost to keep me going I put it on replay and continnued to listen to it until I was done. It was so great!

More of my other favorite upbeat running songs to run to:

Yes, the Irish group from the 90's.. what can I say? πŸ™‚

DOES ANYONE HAVE MUSIC THAT BOOST YOUR ENERGY TO KEEP YOU FOCUSED? LEAVE A COMMENT WITH SOME SUGGESTIONS FOR ME! πŸ™‚

One Response to “Music is a Powerful Thing”

  1. Beth (i run like a girl) January 25, 2012 at 01:31 #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m glad you left a note so I could find yours!

    I don’t run with tunes when I run outdoors, but it’s a necessity for dreadmill workouts and I love listening to music during races. My current race-song-on-repeat is Florence + The Machine’s “Dog Days are Over.” That song gets me through any tough spots!

    PS – I’ll be following your blog from now on. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

