Pink Awareness Cupcake 5k: Race Recap

21 Nov

At the beginning of November I came across  the Cupcake Virtual Runs for Charity facebook page where I saw they were hosting an October run to raise money for breast cancer. I wanted to find a run for breast cancer this year but never found one that worked with my schedule, so what’s the next best thing? Do a virtual run where I can complete the run on my own schedule! That’s just what I did last night… finally got around to running my virtual 5k for breast cancer!

1231166_639647332720574_1547350179_n

I had planned to run it about two weeks ago. Had plans to make it to the gym on Saturday, run my 3.1 miles, maybe do a bit more working out, and call it a day. Well, lets just say I didn’t get out of bed at all on that Saturday! Instead of running my race that weekend I ended up healing from getting my wisdom teeth out on Friday. I think that’s a legit reason to stay in bed on Saturday, eh?

So yesterday while at work a friend texted me asking if I wanted to join her at the gym last night and, of course I can’t turn down a trip to the gym, so I replied with a YES! After running errands and changing clothes I finally made it to the gym where she had already ran four miles! I hopped on the treadmill and starting running to try and match her distance.

I had never ran at this gym before, or on these types of treadmills, so I decided just to push the ‘quick start’ button on the treadmill and make my own run. After a minutes or so of toying with it, I couldn’t get the button to push so I ended up doing a pre-made running workout. I honestly just wanted to start running so I chose the first one I saw….. lesson learned: don’t do that! Apparently this specific pre-made workout was fine for about two minutes but than starting slowing to a 0.5 speed! I than sped it back up to where I was before and continued jogging… for only two minutes before it slowed again. WHAT?!?! After a few minutes of this my friend came up behind me and said, “I can’t sit and watch you do this for 3.1 miles!!” She stopped the treadmill and pushed the ‘quick start’ button with no trouble!! Ugh.. what was wrong when I tried to push that button??

Before she stopped the treadmill I had ran .56 miles, so to complete my 3.1 miles I said I was only going to run another 2.54 (is that right? I’m horrible at math!) to reach my goal. Well once I got to 2.54 miles I couldn’t just leave it there without having the treadmill read 3.1 miles… so in total I ran 3.66 miles last night. Wish I had gone a little farther but I was pretty spent after that!

Was excited to finally run for this beauty of a medal!

image_1

The back of the medal!

The back of the medal!

I’m excited that I finally got around to running this virtual race! What a great cause it’s for as well!

 

One Response to “Pink Awareness Cupcake 5k: Race Recap”

  1. fromicecreamtomarathon November 22, 2013 at 13:00 #

    Love the medal! Good for you for pushing a little harder and doing a little more!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

